You are here

Amberley Hall Care Home Good

We are carrying out a review of quality at Amberley Hall Care Home. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 10 March 2017

We carried out a comprehensive inspection of Amberley Hall Care Home on 20 and 25 January 2016. Following this inspection, we served a Warning Notice for a breach of one regulation of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 relating to good governance. In addition to this, we also found an additional six breaches of five other regulations of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014 during that inspection. These breaches were in relation to person centred care, the need to obtain people’s consent, the safe care and treatment of people, enough staff deployed to support people and treating people with dignity and respect.

Following the inspection the provider wrote to us to say what they would do to meet the legal requirements. We undertook an unannounced focused inspection on 7 July 2016 to check that our warning notice had been complied with. At that inspection, we found that the provider had taken sufficient action to achieve compliance with the Warning Notice.

We undertook this unannounced comprehensive inspection in January 2017 to look at all aspects of the service and to check that the provider had followed their action plan, and confirm that the service now met legal requirements. At this inspection, we found improvements had been made in the required areas and the provider was no longer in breach of the regulations.

You can read the report for previous inspections, by selecting the 'All reports' link for 'Amberley Hall Care Home' on our website at www.cqc.org.uk

Amberley Hall Care Home is registered to provide accommodation for up to 106 people who require nursing and personal care. We spent time in four of the six units within the home. This included the units providing nursing care or specialising in care for people living with dementia. During our inspection, we spent time on the Windsor, Kensington, Regency and Buckingham units. There were 102 people living within the home.

This unannounced inspection took place on 11 and 12 January 2017.

There was a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission (CQC) to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People told us that they felt safe living at the service. Staff were knowledgeable about the procedures to ensure that people were protected from harm. Staff knew who to report any concerns to. People received their medication as prescribed.

There were sufficient numbers of suitably qualified staff employed at the service. The provider’s recruitment process ensured that only staff that had been deemed suitable to work with people at the service were employed.

The CQC is required by law to monitor the operation of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA) and Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS) and to report on what we find. The registered manager was knowledgeable about when a request for a DoLS application would be required. Applications had been submitted appropriately to the relevant local authority.

Staff respected and maintained people’s privacy. People were provided with care and support as required and people did not have to wait for long periods of time before having their care needs met. People’s dignity was respected and that their care needs were met in a timely manner.

People’s assessed care and support needs were planned and met by staff who had a good understanding of how and when to provide people’s care whilst respecting their independence. Most care records were detailed and up to date so that staff were provided with guidelines to care for people in the right way. Where records were not up to date, there was a plan in progress to address this.

People were supported to access a range of health care professionals. Risk assessments were in place

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 10 March 2017

The service was safe.

A sufficient number of appropriately trained staff who were knowledgeable about procedures to keep people safe cared for people.

Only staff that had been deemed suitable to work with people living at the service were employed.

People were safely supported with taking their prescribed medication. Medication was stored, recorded and managed by staff who had been assessed to be competent.

Effective

Good

Updated 10 March 2017

The service was effective.

Staff had a good knowledge of each person. Staff received on-going training and development so they had the right level of skills and knowledge to provide effective care to people.

Staff ensured care was provided in ways, which respected people’s rights, and people were helped to make decisions for them.

People were helped to eat and drink enough and they had been supported to receive all the healthcare attention they needed.

Caring

Good

Updated 10 March 2017

The service was caring.

People’s care was provided with warmth and compassion and in a way which respected their independence.

Staff had a good knowledge and understanding of people’s support needs and what was important to them.

Staff promoted people’s privacy and dignity.

Responsive

Good

Updated 10 March 2017

The service was responsive.

People had been consulted about their needs and wishes and staff provided people with the care they needed.

Staff supported people in a way that took into account people’s individual needs, preferences and what was important to them.

People were able to raise any concerns or about the service and the provider had clear polices and processes in place to address any formal complaints raised with them.

Well-led

Good

Updated 10 March 2017

The service was well-led.

People were enabled to make suggestions to improve the quality of their care.

Management systems were in place to ensure that staff were aware of their roles and responsibilities in providing people with the care that they needed.

Quality assurance systems were in place, which continually reviewed the quality and safety of people's care.