You are here

The Haven Rest Home Requires improvement

We are carrying out a review of quality at The Haven Rest Home. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 15 May 2019

About the service: The Haven Rest Home is a residential care home that was providing accommodation and personal care to 17 people aged 65 and over at the time of the inspection. They can provide support for up to 20 people. This location has a history of breaching the regulations and was rated as Inadequate following inspection in January and February 2018 and was placed in special measures. We imposed conditions on the providers registration as a result which required them to undertaken governance processes and report to us monthly. Following inspection in October and November 2018 we found improvements had not been made and the provider was rated Inadequate again. They remained in special measures.

People’s experience of using this service:

• At this inspection we found significant improvements had been made. The provider had recruited a new manager and engaged the support of an external consultant.

• Improvements had been made to keep people safe. Risks associated with people’s care were being assessed more effectively and plans developed to reduce these. Although some of these would benefit from more detail the manager was aware of this need and staff’s understanding of the risks to people was good.

• Risks we had previously found in relation to the environment were no longer present and the provider had plans to work of general redecoration and maintenance to ensure the home was dementia friendly. Appropriate checks and servicing of equipment were in place.

• Staffing levels had improved.

• The management of medicines had improved. Storage was safer and when errors occurred, these were investigated and acted upon to try and prevent reoccurrences.

• The service was more person centred with staff focusing on what people wanted, rather than tasks that needed to be completed. Activities had improved to be more meaningful and to involve people in the running of the home.

• People were supported by staff who were kind and caring in their approaches, who understood their right to make their own decisions and who supported them to make choices and be involved.

• Staff spoke positively about the changes that had been made. They felt training and supervision had improved. They said they now felt listened to and valued.

• People and their relatives expressed how the manager and provider had been open about the rating of the service and its position, expressing a desire to make improvements and told us they had no concerns.

• A representative for the provider was open with us about why they felt the service had failed and a number of governance system shad been implemented to drive continual improvement in the home. These needed more time to fully embed in order to be confident the improvements seen were sustained.

The service no longer met the characteristics of inadequate and the overall rating had improved to requires improvement. As such, the service has been removed from special measures.

Rating at last inspection: Inadequate (published 11 December 2018)

Why we inspected: This was a planned inspection to follow up on the previous rating of inadequate and check improvements had been made.

Follow up: We will continue to monitor intelligence we receive about the service until we return to visit as per our re-inspection programme. If any concerning information is received we may inspect sooner.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 15 May 2019

The service was not always safe. Improvements had been made but theses needed to be embedded and sustained.

Details are in our Effective findings below.

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 15 May 2019

The service was not always effective

Details are in our Effective findings below.

Caring

Good

Updated 15 May 2019

The service was caring

Details are in our Effective findings below.

Responsive

Good

Updated 15 May 2019

The service was responsive

Details are in our Effective findings below.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 15 May 2019

The service was not always well led. Improvements had been made but theses needed to be embedded and sustained.

Details are in our Effective findings below.