You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 5 December 2018

We inspected Cherry Trees on 31 October and 5 November 2018.

Cherry Trees is a 'care home'. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

Cherry Trees provides respite accommodation and personal care for up to eight people over the age of 18 who are living with a learning or physical disability and/or autism. On our first inspection visit, there were 3 people at the service and on our second inspection visit there were 6 people using the service.

At the last inspection in 14 March 2016 the service was rated good overall. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

Why the service is rated good.

The registered manager provided clear leadership and guidance but there were areas where management’s oversight could be improved. These included, analysis of accidents and incidents, complaints and mental capacity assessments. After the inspection the registered manager developed and sent us an action plan detailing how they were going to implement the improvements needed.

Systems were in place to ensure people remained safe whilst promoting their independence. Risks to people had been adequately identified and measures put in place with guidance for staff to mitigate the risk of harm. We found there were sufficient staff available to meet people's needs and a robust process to ensure safe recruitment.

People using the service told us they felt safe. Feedback from relatives and our analysis of records confirmed this. Medicines were administered safely and the systems in place to check and monitor the recording of medicines were up to date. This helped ensure that any errors would be identified in a timely manner. The care home premises were suitably maintained with a range of health and safety checks so the environment remained safe for people.

The service was meeting the requirements of the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS). People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives in the least restrictive way possible.

People were supported to have food and drink they liked. There were suitable arrangements for the provision of food to ensure that people's dietary needs and preferences were met.

People and relatives were positive about the staff. People received consistency of care and staff knew the people they supported. People were supported to do activities they were interested in.

People's needs were assessed and plans were developed to identify what care and support people required to maintain their health and wellbeing. People were provided with personalised care and support. People’s needs in relation to the protected characteristics under the Equality Act 2010 were taken into account in the planning of their care. People’s communication needs were considered.

Staff were informed of changes occurring within the home through daily handovers and staff meetings. Staff told us that they received up to date information and had an opportunity to share good practice and any concerns they had at these meetings.

There was a management structure in place with a team of support workers, deputy managers and registered manager. Staff spoke positively about working at the home. There were systems in place to monitor and improve the quality of the service.

The provider gathered feedback from people, staff and professionals and communicated openly with them. The provider responded appropriately to concerns and complaints.

The service was focussed on providing high quality care that enhanced the wellbeing of people and famili

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 5 December 2018

The service remains good.

Effective

Good

Updated 5 December 2018

The service remains good.

Caring

Good

Updated 5 December 2018

The service remains good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 5 December 2018

The service remains good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 5 December 2018

The service remains good.