You are here

Community Supported living-St Pauls Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 11 April 2017

This inspection took place on the 01 March 2017 and was unannounced. St Pauls is registered to provide personal care and support to people with a range of needs which include learning disabilities or an autistic spectrum disorder. People live in their own flats within a supported living complex. At the time of our inspection seven people were being supported by the service.

There was a registered manager in post and she was present during our inspection. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

At our last inspection in July 2015 we found that the provider was meeting the regulations of the Health and Social Care Act 2008.

People received their medicines safely and we saw that improvements had been made to ensure procedures were in place to guide staff when administering ‘as required medicines’. We found that recruitment checks were undertaken to ensure only suitable people were employed. We did identify some shortfalls in relation to some small gaps in staff member’s employment history. The provider confirmed to us that they had rectified this following our inspection.

People showed us that they felt safe in the company of staff and relatives told us they thought their family members were safe and protected from harm by the staff and the systems that were in place. Staff were aware of their responsibilities to report any concerns about people’s safety, and they confirmed they had received training in relation to safeguarding people from abuse. People were supported by a consistent staff team who knew them well.

People were supported to take part in everyday living tasks and to do the things that they enjoyed. The risks associated with these activities were well managed so that people could undertake these safely and without any restrictions. Staff told us their training was up to date and that they had the support that enabled them to deliver care safely. We saw staff understood people's needs and helped them to follow their chosen lifestyles and achieve their goals.

People’s human rights were respected by staff because staff applied the principles of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 and the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards in their work practice

People were treated with kindness, and respect and staff promoted people’s independence and right to privacy. People were supported to maintain good health; we saw that staff alerted health care professionals if they had any concerns about their health or well-being. People were supported to eat and drink in accordance with their preferences and dietary requirements.

There was a complaints policy in place and staff were aware of the signs to look out for which may indicate people were unhappy. Relatives we spoke with knew how to raise any concerns they may have, and they had confidence that any issues would be addressed.

Relatives and staff told us the service was managed well and in people’s best interests. Systems were in place to gain feedback from these people to enable the service to make any required improvements. Audits were undertaken regularly to monitor the quality of the service provided.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 11 April 2017

The service was safe

People received their medicines when they needed them.

People were protected from the risk of harm by staff that had been trained to recognise and report concerns.

Potential risks to people’s well-being were well managed.

Effective

Good

Updated 11 April 2017

The service was effective.

Staff had received the training they needed to support people effectively.

People were asked for their consent in ways they understood.

Staff ensured people were supported to have sufficient food and drink, and they monitored people’s healthcare needs.

Caring

Good

Updated 11 April 2017

The service was caring.

Staff was described as caring, compassionate and respectful by relatives.

People’s privacy and dignity was respected and their independence promoted.

People were supported to maintain relationships with their family and friends.

Responsive

Good

Updated 11 April 2017

The service was responsive.

Relatives were consulted about the support that was provided to their family member.

Staff had information on how to support people and meet their needs.

People chose how they spent their time and were supported to follow their own recreational interests.

Systems were in place to respond to any concerns that were raised.

Well-led

Good

Updated 11 April 2017

The service was well led.

Staff told us they were supported by the management team who promoted an open and transparent service which placed people at the heart of the service.

Systems were in place to obtain feedback from people, relatives staff and professionals about the quality of the service that was provided.

Systems were in place to monitor the quality of the service provided.