You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 6 February 2020

About the service:

Orchid Care is a domiciliary care agency. It provides personal care to adults living in their own homes, with a range of disabilities. At the time of this inspection the service it was providing care to 42 people.

Since the last inspection there has been a change in the provider’s trading company name. At the last inspection on 20 November 2018 (report published 17 January 2019), the trading company was called Kare Plus Enfield. On 20 March 2019 the trading company changed name to Orchid Care. This means the agency has been registered as a new service but there is a clear link between an archived provider and the currently registered one.

People’s experience of the service

Relatives told us they were very happy with the service and staff were kind to their family member. They also confirmed the management team were responsive when issues were raised.

Quality assurance audits were taking place, but systems for checking staff arrived on time were not always effective and this was identified as an issue by a number of relatives. We have made a recommendation in relation to care quality auditing processes.

Care records were up to date and comprehensive and included information for staff on how to manage risks.

People were safeguarded against the risks of abuse and harm by the systems and by the staff. There were enough staff to meet people’s needs and provide responsive care. Safe recruitment practices took place so staff were considered appropriate to work with vulnerable people.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible and in their best interests; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

People were supported to access external health professionals to help promote good health and wellbeing.

Staff were supported in their role through induction, supervision and training, and people and their relatives told us staff were effective in caring for them.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Rating at last inspection:

The last rating for the service was requires improvement (published 17 January 2019).

Why we inspected:

This was a planned inspection based on the previous rating.

Follow up:

We will continue to monitor information we receive about the service until we return to visit as per our re-inspection programme. If we receive any concerning information we may inspect sooner.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 6 February 2020

The service was safe.

Details are in our Safe findings below.

Effective

Good

Updated 6 February 2020

The service was effective.

Details are in our Effective findings below.

Caring

Good

Updated 6 February 2020

The service was caring.

Details are in our Caring findings below.

Responsive

Good

Updated 6 February 2020

The service was responsive.

Details are in our Responsive findings below.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 6 February 2020

The service was not always well-led.

Details are in our Well-led findings below.