You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 30 September 2017

This inspection visit took place on 15 August 2017 and was announced. We gave the provider 24 hours’ notice to ensure someone would be available at the service. We spoke with relatives via telephone on 22 August 2017.

The service had a registered manager in place. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission (CQC) to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

We last inspected the service in November 2014 and rated the service as ‘Good.’ At this inspection we found the service remained ‘Good’ and met all the fundamental standards we inspected against.

Staffing was provided at safe levels and any staff absences were covered by the provider’s own permanent and bank staff.

Accidents and incidents had been appropriately recorded and risk assessments were in place for people who used the service and staff.

We found that safe recruitment and selection procedures were in place and appropriate checks had been undertaken before staff began work. This included obtaining references from previous employers to show the service verified the conduct of prospective staff members.

People and relatives we spoke with told us they felt safe at Cosin Lodge. Staff were aware of procedures to follow if they observed any concerns.

Appropriate systems were in place for the management of medicines so that people received their medicines safely. Medicines were stored in a safe manner.

Staff were suitably trained and training was arranged for any due refresher training. Staff received regular supervisions and appraisals and told us they felt supported.

The provider was working within the principles of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA). People are were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

People were protected from the risk of poor nutrition and staff were aware of people’s nutritional needs. Care records contained evidence of visits to and from external healthcare specialists.

Care records showed that people’s needs were assessed before they started using the service, they were supported to transition to the service at their own pace and support plans were written in a person centred way. Person centred means the individual needs of the person, their wishes and preferences were central to the support plan.

Staff supported people who used the service with their social needs. We observed that all staff were very caring in their interactions with people at the service. People clearly felt very comfortable with staff members and there was a warm and positive atmosphere in the service and people were very relaxed. We saw people being treated with dignity and respect and relatives and people told us that staff were kind and professional.

People who used the service and family members were aware of how to make a complaint. Information had been provided in an easy to read format.

Staff told us they felt supported by the registered manager and were comfortable raising any concerns. People who used the service, family members and staff were regularly consulted about the quality of the service.

The service had a comprehensive range of audits in place to check the quality and safety of the service and equipment at Cosin Lodge and actions plans and lessons learnt were part of their on-going quality review of the service.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 30 September 2017

The service remained good.

Effective

Good

Updated 30 September 2017

The service remained good.

Caring

Good

Updated 30 September 2017

The service was caring.

It was clear from our observations and from speaking with staff they had a good understanding of people’s care and support needs.

Wherever possible, people were involved in making decisions about their care and independence was promoted. We saw people’s privacy and dignity was respected by staff.

People had access to advocacy services and the service supported people to maintain relationships with friends and family.

Responsive

Good

Updated 30 September 2017

The service remained good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 30 September 2017

The service remained good.