You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 18 October 2018

This inspection was carried out over two days on the, 08 and 13 August 2018. Our visit on the 08 August was unannounced and we held telephone discussions with family members on the second day.

Bankfield Road is a ‘care home’ for Adults with learning disabilities at the time of our visit six people were living in the home. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement.

CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection. At the last inspection in August 2015 the service was rated Good. At this inspection we found the service remained Good.

Bankfield Road provides accommodation and personal care and support for up to six adults. The accommodation is provided on the ground floor of the premises only. Communal spaces including a lounge; dining room and two bathrooms. There is a car park provided for visitors and staff. The home is situated in a quiet residential area of Widnes, close to shops and amenities. At the time of our inspection six people were living at the service.

The home has a manager who has been registered with CQC since 2015. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

The registered provider had systems in place to monitor the quality of the service provided.

Staffing levels were in line with the dependency tool, however rotas need to be clearer to identify which staff are available to provide hands on care and support to make sure residents needs and activities can be met by those on duty.

Procedures were in place to identify risks and assessments clearly instructed staff how to manage the risks associated with providing support and daily living.

Policies and procedures and training were available to staff to minimise harm to those living in the home. Staff knew how to recognise and report the signs of abuse which helps to keep people safe.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff support them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service support this practice.

People had access to healthcare services for example from the district nurse, optician, dietetic services, health screening and the GP and were supported to attend hospital appointments as required.

People were involved and supported to attend activities they enjoyed.

Further information is detailed in the findings below.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 18 October 2018

The service remains safe.

Effective

Good

Updated 18 October 2018

The service remains effective.

Caring

Good

Updated 18 October 2018

The service remains caring.

Responsive

Good

Updated 18 October 2018

The service remains responsive.

Well-led

Good

Updated 18 October 2018

The service remains well-led.