You are here

BMI The Huddersfield Hospital Requires improvement

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 26 January 2021

We carried out an urgent responsive inspection on the 17 and 18 December 2020 following serious concerns identified pertaining to medicines management. The inspection was conducted using specific key lines of enquiry which related to the management of medicines.

Our rating of this location stayed the same. We inspected but did not rate.

  • Managers regularly reviewed and adjusted staffing levels and skill mix and gave bank staff a full induction. The service provided mandatory training in key skills to all staff and made sure everyone completed it.
  • The service used systems and processes to safely prescribe, administer, record and store medicines.
  • The service managed patient safety incidents well. Managers investigated incidents and shared lessons learned with the whole team and the wider service.
  • The service made sure staff were competent for their roles. Managers appraised staff’s work performance and held supervision meetings with them to provide support and development.
  • Staff felt respected, supported and valued at a local level. The service had an open culture where staff could raise concerns without fear.
  • Leaders and teams used systems to manage performance effectively. They identified and escalated relevant risks and issues and identified actions to reduce their impact.
Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 26 January 2021

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 26 January 2021

Caring

Good

Updated 26 January 2021

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 26 January 2021

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 26 January 2021

Checks on specific services

Surgery

Requires improvement

Updated 26 January 2021

The service used systems and processes to safely prescribe, administer, record and store medicines.

Staff felt respected, supported and valued at a local level. The service had an open culture where staff could raise concerns without fear.

Leaders and teams used systems to manage performance effectively. They identified and escalated relevant risks and issues and identified actions to reduce their impact.

Managers regularly reviewed and adjusted staffing levels and skill mix and gave bank staff a full induction.

The service provided mandatory training in key skills to all staff and made sure everyone completed it.

Diagnostic imaging

Good

Updated 23 December 2019

Diagnostic services were a small proportion of hospital activity. The main service was surgery. Where arrangements were the same, we have reported findings in the surgery section. We rated this service as good. We found the service was safe, effective, caring, responsive and well led.

Outpatients

Good

Updated 23 December 2019

Outpatients services were a small proportion of hospital activity. The main service was surgery. Where arrangements were the same, we have reported findings in the surgery section. We rated this service as good. We found the service was effective, caring, responsive and well led.