You are here

BMI The Chiltern Hospital Requires improvement

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 14 October 2019

BMI The Chiltern Hospital is operated by BMI Healthcare Limited. The hospital has 66 beds which are divided between three wards, Misbourne, Chalfont and Shardeloes wards. Facilities at the hospital include three operating theatres, an endoscopy suite, a physiotherapy department with a rehabilitation gym and hydro pool and outpatient and diagnostic facilities.

The hospital provides surgery, medical care, services for children and young people, outpatients, and diagnostic imaging.

Following the comprehensive inspection, which was carried out on 15-17 January 2019, the provider was issued with a warning notice relating to the children and young people service on 04 February 2019.

We carried out an unannounced focused inspection on 20 August 2019, to assess compliance against the warning notice. Our inspection targeted the key concerns identified in the warning notice.

At the inspection we found the provider had made considerable progress on all issues identified in the warning notice and we found the following improvements:

  • There was evidence governance processes were in place to ensure the effective running of the service and to safeguard children and young people that used the service.

  • Systems and processes for the recruitment of staff ensured staff held the essential qualifications for the role they were employed for.

  • The children and young people service risk assessed the staffing levels against patient activity and made sure there was safe staffing. There was on-call cover when a children and young people nurse was not on-site at the hospital.

  • The BMI policy and procedures for the staffing of paediatric services was adhered to.

The hospital was compliant with the warning notice.

Dr Nigel Acheson

Deputy Chief Inspector of Hospitals (London and South)

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 14 October 2019

Effective

Good

Updated 14 October 2019

Caring

Good

Updated 14 October 2019

Responsive

Good

Updated 14 October 2019

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 14 October 2019

Checks on specific services

Medical care (including older people’s care)

Good

Updated 24 April 2019

Medical care services were a small proportion of hospital activity. The main service was surgery. Where arrangements were the same, we have reported findings in the surgery section.

The majority of medical care provided by the service was endoscopy and oncology, this core service report has focussed mainly on these specialties.

We rated this service as good because it was safe, effective, caring and responsive, and well-led.

Surgery

Good

Updated 24 April 2019

Surgery was the main activity of the hospital. Where our findings on surgery also apply to other services, we do not repeat the information but cross-refer to the surgery section.

Staffing was managed jointly with medical care.

We rated this service as good overall and good in each domain because it was safe, effective, caring, responsive and well-led.

Services for children & young people

Requires improvement

Updated 14 October 2019

Children and young people’s services were a small proportion of hospital activity. The main service was surgery.

At the comprehensive inspection carried out 15-17 January 2019 we rated this service as requires improvement because well led was inadequate, safe, effective and responsive were requires improvement and caring was good.

This inspection did not change the rating as we were inspecting to assess compliance against the warning notice only.

Diagnostic imaging

Requires improvement

Updated 24 April 2019

Diagnostics were a small proportion of hospital activity. The main service was surgery. Where arrangements were the same, we have reported findings in the surgery section.

We rated this service as requires improvement because there were some aspects in safe and well led such as medicines management that required improvement. We found the service to be good in the responsive and caring domains.

We currently do not rate the effective domain.

Outpatients

Requires improvement

Updated 24 April 2019

Outpatients was a significant proportion of hospital activity. The main service was surgery. Where arrangements were the same, we have reported findings in the surgery section.

We rated this service as requires improvement because there were some aspects in safe and well led that required improvement. We found the service to be good in the responsive and caring domains.

We currently do not rate the effective domain.