You are here

The Berkshire Independent Hospital Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 21 June 2019

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 21 June 2019

Are services safe?

Our rating of safe stayed the same. We rated it as Good because:

  • Emergency equipment was maintained safely, as all the necessary checks were completed in line with the provider’s policy and procedures.
  • All the areas we visited were clean and well maintained. Infection control procedures were followed, and hand gels were available at the reception and in clinical areas for visitors and staff.
  • Arrangements were in place as consultants and theatre staff were on call and would attend for any emergency surgical procedures.
  • Staff followed their process to safeguard patients from the risks of harm.
  • Incidents were investigated and we saw evidence of changes in practice from lessons learnt.

However;

  • All Intravenous fluids were not always managed safely and in line with good practice guidelines. Intravenous fluids which had expired were in circulation which may pose safety risks.
  • The provider did not have a standard operating procedure for admission of patients in the escalation beds.
  • Staff did not consistently follow the procedures and application of the World Health Organisation (WHO) guidelines (5 steps to safer surgery) checklist.

Effective

Good

Updated 21 June 2019

Our rating of effective stayed the same. We rated it as Good because:

  • Care and treatment was provided in line with national guidelines.

  • Patients told us that they had adequate information about pain relief and that their pain was managed well.

  • Integrated care pathways were used for patients undergoing day surgery procedures. These included assessments of risk such as venous thromboembolism.

  • The service had followed their procedures for pre- surgery fasting times in line with best practice. We saw patients were fasted for the least amount of time prior to surgery.

However:

  • Some policies and procedures were not regularly reviewed and updated to ensure these were in line with current best practice.

Caring

Good

Updated 21 June 2019

Our rating of caring stayed the same. We rated it as Good because:

  • Patients were treated with care and compassion. They were positive about the care and treatment they received.

  • Patients were involved in the decisions about their care.

  • Patients ‘privacy and dignity were maintained always when receiving care. Patients were treated with care and respect.

Responsive

Good

Updated 21 June 2019

Our rating of responsive stayed the same. We rated it as Good because:

  • The service took concerns seriously and investigated them. The outcome was shared with staff to improve the service provided.

  • There were effective admission procedures for patients which included set criteria which staff adhered to.

  • Information on how to raise concerns or complaints was available. The service managed complaints well and responded to patients in a timely way.

  • Patients received diets and fluids to meet their needs and they were complimentary about the meals and choices offered to them.

Well-led

Good

Updated 21 June 2019

Our rating of well-led stayed the same. We rated it as Good because:

  • There was effective governance with clinical governance committee and risks which were linked to the governance framework.

  • The hospital had a recognition system for staff and included a long service award.

  • Evidence of learning from incidents was effectively managed which included changes in practice.

  • The service had a process to review risks and action plans were developed to manage these.

  • There was a positive culture where staff felt they were supported and involved in the development of the service.

Checks on specific services

Medical care (including older people’s care)

Good

Updated 28 March 2017

Medical care services were a small proportion of hospital activity. The main service was surgery. Where arrangements were the same, we have reported findings in the surgery section.

There were a small number of medical patients that used the service at The Berkshire Independent Hospital. There was an infusion service that treated a small number of regular patients each month on a day case basis.

We have also reported endoscopy services under medicine.

We rated this service as good because;

  • Areas we visited were clean, tidy and fit for purpose. The environment was pleasant and comfortable for patients.
  • There was an embedded culture of incident reporting. Investigations were robust and there was evidence that learning was shared both within the hospital and across the organisation.
  • The endoscopy suite had Joint Advisory Group (JAG) accreditation incorporating the endoscopy global rating scale, which is a quality improvement and assessment tool for endoscopy services.
  • Medical services had an appropriate level of competent staff. The RMO was well supported by consultant physicians.
  • Patient feedback about the quality of care was consistently good.
  • Managers were visible, approachable and effective.
  • Referral to treatment targets were consistently met with patients being given appointments and receiving treatment in a timely way.

Outpatients and diagnostic imaging

Good

Updated 28 March 2017

Outpatient and diagnostic imaging services were a small proportion of hospital activity. The main service was surgery. Where arrangements were the same, we have reported findings in the surgery section.

We rated outpatients and diagnostic imaging as good because:

  • The hospital had systems and processes in place to protect patients from harm.

  • Infection prevention and control practices were good, and staff followed hospital policies.

  • The care environment was visibly clean, well presented and fit for purpose.

  • Medicines were managed and stored correctly; administration was in line with good practice and relevant legislation.

  • Patient care records were accurate and stored securely in line with the Data Protection Act 1998.

  • The hospital had a comprehensive audit programme in place to monitor services and identify areas for improvement.

  • The outpatient and diagnostic imaging services had sufficient numbers of appropriately trained competent staff to provide a safe service.

  • We observed that staff interactions with patients were kind, caring, and considerate and respected their dignity. Patients told us they were put at ease when having their investigation.

  • The hospital was responsive to the needs of the population it served. Appointments could be accessed in a timely manner and at a variety of times throughout the day.

  • Managers were visible, approachable and effective.

Surgery

Good

Updated 21 June 2019

Surgery was the main activity of the hospital which we inspected. We rated this service as good because it was safe, effective, caring, responsive and well-led.