You are here

Archived: The Cedars Residential Care Home Good

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 4 January 2016

This inspection took place on 6 and 19 October 2015. The first day of the inspection was unannounced and the date of the second day was discussed and agreed with the home manager.

The last inspection took place on the 25 September 2013 when The Cedars Residential Care Home [The Cedars] was found to compliant in the following areas: consent, care and welfare, meeting nutritional needs, safety of premises and assessing and monitoring the quality of service provision.

The Cedars is part of CLS Care Services Ltd and is registered to provide accommodation for people who require help and support with their daily lives. The two storey building can accommodate up to 27 people in single bedrooms. The home is located in the town of Holmes Chapel and is close to the town centre and other local amenities. Staff members are on duty 24 hours a day to provide care for the people who live in the home. At the time of our visit there were 24 people living in the home.

The Cedars had a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

We asked people using the service if they felt safe at The Cedars they said that they did.

The service had a safeguarding procedure in place. This was designed to ensure that any possible problems that arose were dealt with openly and people were protected from possible harm.

We looked at the files for the three most recently appointed staff members to check that effective recruitment procedures had been completed. We found that the appropriate checks had been made to ensure that they were suitable to work with vulnerable adults.

We asked staff members about training and they all confirmed that they received regular training throughout the year and that it was up to date.

The service had a range of policies and procedures which included guidance on the Mental Capacity Act 2005 and the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards. Staff members need to undertake training in these areas.

There was a flexible menu in place which provided a good variety of food to the people using the service.

The five care plans [CLS call these ‘life plans] contained personalised information and they were written in a style that would enable any staff member reading it to have a good idea of what help and assistance someone needed at a particular time. All of the plans that we looked at were well-maintained and were being reviewed monthly so staff would know what changes, if any, had been made. The registered manager explained that all of the plans were in the process of being reviewed in depth with a view of making further improvements to them.

Staff members we spoke with were positive about how the home was being managed. Throughout the inspection we observed them interacting with each other in a professional manner. All of the staff members we spoke with were positive about the service and the quality of the support being provided.

We found that the registered manager and provider used a variety of methods in order to assess the quality of the service they were providing to people. These included regular audits on areas such as the care files, including risk assessments, medication and staff training.  The records were being maintained properly.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 4 January 2016

The service was safe.

The provider had effective systems to manage risks without restricting people’s activities. Risk assessments were up to date to ensure people were protected from the risk of harm.

We found that appropriate safeguarding procedures were in place and staff members understood how to safeguard the people they supported. People staying at the service felt safe and had no complaints.

The arrangements for managing medicines were safe.  Medicines were kept safely and were stored securely.  The administration and recording of when people had their medicines was safe.

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 4 January 2016

The service was not always effective.

We asked staff members about training and whilst they all confirmed that they received regular training throughout the year this had not included any training on the Mental Capacity Act 2005 [MCA] and the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS). We have since received written confirmation from the registered manager that this was in the process of being addressed.

A tour of the premises was undertaken; this included all communal areas including lounge and dining areas plus and with consent a number of bedrooms. The home was well maintained and provided an environment that could meet the needs of the people that were living there.

Caring

Good

Updated 4 January 2016

The service was caring.

We asked the people living at The Cedars about the home and the staff members working there and received a number of positive comments about their caring attitudes.

Visiting relatives and friends also made positive comments about the home and the staff members working there.

The staff members we spoke to could show that they had a good understanding of the people they were supporting and they were able to meet their various needs.  We saw that they were interacting well with people in order to ensure that they received the care and support they needed.

Responsive

Good

Updated 4 January 2016

The service was responsive.

We looked at care plans, CLS call these, ‘life plans’ to see what support people needed and how this was recorded. The plans contained personalised information and they were written in a style that would enable any staff member reading it to have a good idea of what help and assistance someone needed at a particular time.

The home had a complaints policy and processes were in place to record any complaints received and to ensure that these would be addressed within the timescales given in the policy.  We looked at the most recent complaint and could see that this had been dealt with appropriately.

Well-led

Good

Updated 4 January 2016

The service was well led.

There was a registered manager in place.

There were systems in place to assess and audit the quality of the service being provided by The Cedars.

We saw that residents’ meetings were being held and we were able to view the minutes from the last meeting held in September 2015. These were readily available for residents to view and had been produced in large print to assist reading. The minutes showed people had been involved in planning activities and had been invited to provide suggestions and feedback on all aspects of the running of the home and their daily lives.