You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 14 March 2018

Hillside Care Home provides accommodation and personal care for up to 44 older people. There were 37 people living in the home on the day of our inspection. This inspection took place on 1 and 2 February 2018 and was unannounced. Hillside is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

There was a registered manager in post at the time of our inspection. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

During the last comprehensive inspection at Hillside Care Home during February 2017 we had serious concerns about the lack of adequate numbers of staff on duty and the safe management of medicines. We issued the provider with a warning notice to the provider and registered manager who was in post at that time to inform them that the service was required to become compliant with Regulation 18 of The Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014 by 27 May 2017.

We received an action plan following which we carried out a focussed inspection on 17 July 2017 to assess compliance. At this inspection we found that improvements had been met with regards to how the service effectively calculated the numbers of staff required to ensure that people's needs were met safely. We also found improvements had been made in the systems in place to ensure that people were provided with their medicines safely. At the inspection on 17 July 2017 we changed the rating for the key question of safe to ‘Good’. In line with our methodology the overall rating remained ‘Requires Improvement’.

You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the 'all reports' link for Hillside Care Home on our website at www.cqc.org.uk

During this inspection in February 2018 we found improvements were needed with regard to the provision of meaningful activities for people to take part in. Care plans were not all up to date; the information within them was not always current.

Staff had an understanding of abuse and safeguarding procedures. They were aware of how to report abuse as well as an awareness of how to report safeguarding concerns outside of the service. Risks were mostly managed well, risk assessments were in place and reviewed. The storage of mobility equipment meant that fire extinguishers were not easily visible. Action was taken to address this during our inspection.

Effective recruitment processes were followed and there were enough staff to meet people's needs. People received their medicines safely and as prescribed. Medicines were administered by staff who were trained to do so.

People's ability to make decisions was considered in line with the requirements of the Mental Capacity Act 2005. People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice. Staff interacted with people in a professional manner and their consent was sought before any care was carried out.

Staff knew the needs and preferences of the people they cared for and people were given reassurance and encouragement when they needed it. People's rights to privacy, dignity and independence were taken into account by staff in the way they cared for them.

Improvements were needed to the environment on the first floor however this had already been identified and redecoration works were underway.

The registered manager encouraged an open, inclusive culture within the home. Relatives were free to visit their family me

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 14 March 2018

The service was safe.

Staff were recruited safely and there were sufficient well-trained staff to meet the needs of people who used the service.

Staff were aware of safeguarding procedures and were able to describe what to do if they felt people were unsafe.

A safe system of medicine management was in place.

Effective

Good

Updated 14 March 2018

The service was effective.

Staff were well supported and received the training they needed.

If people became unwell staff sought medical advice promptly to promote

their health.

People received sufficient food and drink to meet their needs.

The principles of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 were followed.

Caring

Good

Updated 14 March 2018

The service was caring.

People were treated with kindness and compassion.

People's rights to independence, privacy and dignity were valued and respected.

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 14 March 2018

The service was not always responsive.

Care records were not always up to date or robustly reviewed.

People did always have the opportunity to participate in activities that met their choices and preferences.

The provider had a complaints procedure and people and their relatives felt able to complain if they needed to.

Well-led

Good

Updated 14 March 2018

The service was well-led.

The registered manager demonstrated good leadership.

There were clear working arrangements in place with other professionals to meet people's needs.

There was an open and transparent culture within the service where people and staff felt comfortable to raise concerns.