You are here

Risedale at Aldingham Nursing Home Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 1 December 2018

We carried out this inspection at inspected Risedale at Aldingham Nursing Home (Risedale at Aldingham) on 8 and 9 October 2018. The first day of the inspection was unannounced which meant the provider was not expecting us. We told the manager we would be returning to continue the inspection on the second day.

We last inspected Risedale at Aldingham in April 2016. At that inspection the service was rated Good. At this inspection we found the service remained good. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

Risedale at Aldingham is a 'care home'. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as a single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. Risedale at Aldingham Nursing Home provides accommodation for up to 74 people who need nursing or personal care due to physical or mental health needs.

The home is situated in the hamlet of Aldingham on the northern shore of Morecambe Bay and close to the market town of Ulverston. There are patio and conservatory areas and extensive gardens for people to use and staff and visitor car parking. The home has a passenger lift to allow access to the different floors in the home. The home has a range of equipment suitable to meet the needs of people living there.

The home is split into two separate units, Aldingham and St.Cuthberts. Aldingham is in a period building that has been adapted and extended for its present use. St Cuthberts is a purpose built unit designed to meet the needs of people who are living with dementia. Each separate unit has its own registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

We found that Risedale at Aldingham was constantly working to improve their service for the people who lived there and to find ways to move the service forward. At this inspection we also found the service was continuing to improve and demonstrated some characteristics of 'outstanding'. For example, the service was particularly skilled at caring for and supporting people and their families at the end of life, responding to changing needs and working with other professionals.

The home had been accredited with the Gold Standard Framework (GSF) for end of life care in care homes and had an end of life strategy to underpin its continued development. This rigorously accredited programme focused upon systems for using and developing high levels of holistic care at the end of a person’s life. Relatives feedback was very positive and appreciative of this aspect of the service. Feedback we received made frequent reference to the professionalism, kindness and understanding of all the staff shown to people living in the home and their families.

People told us they felt safe living at Risedale at Aldingham and relatives expressed great confidence in the staff and management to keep their relatives safe and happy. The service was also very supportive of families and showed kindness and compassion as people dealt with difficult life events. We were contacted by relatives who wanted to tell us to tell us their experience of the service because they had been so impressed by the care their relative had received and they wanted to make sure we were aware of this.

The registered provider continued to improve the environment for the people who lived there. The building was well maintained and a clean and homely place for people to live. We saw that equipment in use was regularly cleaned and had been serviced and maintained safely. We observed people being moved by staff in a saf

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 1 December 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 1 December 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 1 December 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Outstanding

Updated 1 December 2018

The service was extremely responsive and has improved to outstanding.

Well-led

Good

Updated 1 December 2018

The service remains Good.