You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 19 July 2018

At our last inspection in July 2017 the overall rating for this service was Requires Improvement. We rated Safe, Caring, Responsive and Well-Led as Requires Improvement because the provider did not have suitable arrangements to protect people against the risks associated with the management of medicines. We found that not all medicines were administered safely and the stock control checks of medicine were not always correct. We observed and we received feedback from staff and relatives that there were insufficient numbers of staff to care for and support people to meet their needs. The provider did not have effective systems to assess, review and manage risks to ensure the safety of people. We asked the provider to complete an action plan to show what they would do and by when to improve the key questions of Safe, Caring, Responsive and Well Led to at least good.

At this inspection on the 19 June 2018 we found the provider had followed their plan with regard to the breaches of regulations in safe care and treatment and staffing. The provider and staff were managing and administering medicines in a way that was safe. Staffing levels had improved and the provider recognised this would need to be monitored weekly to ensure people received the care they required.

We have not changed the rating for Safe from Requires Improvement to Good as the provider needs to show they can sustain and improve on the changes they have made over a longer period of time. We have changed the rating for Caring, Responsive and Well-Led to Good and the overall rating to Good.

Lynton Hall is a 'care home'. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. The Care Quality Commission (CQC) regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. There were 43 older people, some of whom had Dementia, using the service at the time of our inspection.

The home was based on two floors, the ground floor for people with nursing care needs and the first floor for people living with dementia. There were bedrooms, bathrooms and communal rooms on both floors.

The home had a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the CQC to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People were safe at the home. Staff could explain to us how to keep people safe from abuse and neglect. People had suitable risk assessments in place. The provider managed risks associated with the premises and equipment well.

There were enough staff at the home to meet people's needs; however, management said they would assess this weekly to ensure sufficient staff were on duty to meet people’s caring needs. Recruitment practices remained safe.

Medicines were now administered safely. The checks we made confirmed that people were receiving their medicines as prescribed by staff qualified to administer medicines.

People were cared for by staff who received appropriate training and support. Staff had the skills, experience and a good understanding of how to meet people's needs. We saw that staff encouraged people to make their own decisions and gave them the encouragement, time and support to do so. Staff were providing support in line with the Mental Capacity Act (2005).

People were supported to eat and drink sufficient amounts to meet their needs. People had access to a range of healthcare professionals.

The staff were caring. The atmosphere in the home was calm and friendly. Staff took their time and gave people encouragement whilst supporting them. Throughout the inspection we saw that people had the privacy they needed and were treated with dignity and respect by staff.

People's needs were assessed before they stayed at the home and sup

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 19 July 2018

The service was safe. We have not changed the rating from Requires Improvement to Good as the provider needs to show they can sustain and improve on the changes they have made over a longer period of time.

The provider had systems in place to help ensure people were protected against the risks associated with the management and administration of medicines.

The provider acknowledged they would need to continuously assessed people�s caring needs to ensure there were sufficient numbers of staff deployed to meet these needs in an appropriate and timely way.

Risk assessments were undertaken to establish any risks present for people who used the service, which helped to protect them.

Staff were knowledgeable in recognising signs of potential abuse and the action they needed to take.

Effective

Good

Updated 19 July 2018

The service continued to be effective.

Staff had the skills and knowledge to meet people's needs and preferences.

Staff were suitably trained and supported for their caring role and we saw this training put into practice.

The service had taken the correct actions to ensure that the requirements of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA) and Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS) were followed.

People were supported to eat and drink sufficient amounts of their choice to meet their needs. Staff took appropriate action to ensure people received the care and support they needed from healthcare professionals.

Caring

Good

Updated 19 July 2018

The service was caring. We have improved the rating from Requires Improvement to Good because we observed staff treated people with dignity, respect and kindness.

Staff were very knowledgeable about people's needs, likes, interests and preferences.

People were listened to and there were systems in place to obtain people's views about their care.

Responsive

Good

Updated 19 July 2018

The service was responsive. We have changed the rating from Requires Improvement to Good because changes had been made to people's care plans that more fully reflected their needs.

Assessments were undertaken to identify people's needs and these were used to develop care plans for people.

Changes in people's health and care needs were acted upon to help protect people's wellbeing.

People told us they felt able to raise concerns and would complain if they needed to.

Well-led

Good

Updated 19 July 2018

We have changed the rating from Requires Improvement to Good because the provider had made positive changes to their auditing systems.

The service was well led by a registered manager and a new deputy manager.

The provider carried out a range of checks and audits to monitor the quality of the service and developed action plans to ensure changes when needed were made.

The registered manager had a clear understanding of their roles and responsibilities with regard to the requirements for submission of notifications of relevant events and changes to CQC.