You are here

Archived: Burrswood Care Home Good

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 7 April 2016

This was an unannounced inspection carried out on the 7, 8 and 9 March 2016. We last carried out a routine inspection on 8, 9 and 27 April 2015 when we found four breaches in the regulations that we reviewed which related to, staffing levels, medicines management, control and prevention of infection and provision of food and drink. At this inspection, we found that breaches had been met or plans were in place to make improvements.

Burrswood House Residential and Nursing Home is registered to provide accommodation and support for up to 125 mainly older people. The home is a purpose-built, two storey building which comprises of four separate houses.

On the first floor, Dunster House provides general nursing care and Crompton House provides residential social care. On the ground floor, Peel House provides nursing care for people who are living with dementia who also have complex mental health needs and Kay House, which provides residential care to people living with dementia care.

The home had a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run. The registered manager was present throughout our inspection.

We saw improvements had been made in relation to medicines management, infection control and staffing. We saw that improvements had been made to food and nutrition arrangements with further improvements being agreed with the regional and finance managers during our inspection.

We found that all four houses were clean and clutter free and no malodours were detected. A person who used the service said, “They clean my room every day and do my laundry. They do a good job.” Relatives said, “[Relative’s] bedding is always clean. They are always cleaning,” and “It’s a lovely home. It’s been painted and always clean and tidy.”

There had been a reduction in staff sickness levels and therefore the use of agency care staff had ceased. This helped to ensure that people were provided with consistent care, treatment and support by staff who knew them well. Staffing arrangements at the home had improved by changes being made to the rota and an increase in staffing at busy times of the day. Additional staffing was also agreed to help support people who needed additional help to eat their meals.

People told us, “The food is very good,” “It’s lovely,” “I like the sweets,” and “If we don’t like it then we can have something else. They make sure my wife when she visits can have a meal with me in the dining room. You can have anything you want at the drop of a hat!”

The staff we spoke with told that they had received safeguarding adults training. They were all able to inform us what they would do should they find that abuse was taking place. Staff members said, “I know the Speak Up number and I would use it” and “I would not hesitate to speak to [the house manager and registered manager] and they would definitely take action.”

We saw that the required checks had been made when employing new staff. This helped to ensure that people were kept safe from potential staff who were unsuitable to work with vulnerable adults.

A major refurbishment program had been completed to make improvements to the home. This included people’s bedrooms being redecorated, new carpets being fitted and new bedroom furniture. There was also a new lighting system, new radiators and a new ‘nurse call’ system had been fitted. Further work was planned to take place to improve the dining experience of people who lived with dementia on Peel House and Kay House. A quiet lounge with a seaside theme was also in progress of being developed on Peel House.

A pre-admission assessment was undertaken with the person and their relatives if appropriate before agreement was reach

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 7 April 2016

The service was safe.

People told us they felt safe living at Burrswood House. Staff were able to demonstrate their understanding of the safeguarding policy and procedure. Staff knew what to do, to help protect people, if they suspected or witnessed abuse or the poor practice of colleagues.

Staffing arrangements at the home had improved by changes in the rota. There had been a reduction in staff sickness levels and therefore the use of agency care staff. This helped to ensure that people were provided with consistent care, treatment and support by staff who knew them well.

People received their medicines safely.

Effective

Good

Updated 7 April 2016

The service was effective.

People who used the service told us the food offered was good. We saw systems were in place to monitor people�s nutritional needs. Additional staff and improvements to the layout of the houses where people lived with dementia provided better support for people to eat their meals

Staff felt supported by their line manager in their roles. They had received the induction training they required to ensure they were able to carry out their roles effectively, before directly supporting people.

Managers understood their responsibilities in relation to the Mental Capacity Act (MCA) 2005 and Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS) so that people�s rights were protected.

People received the care and treatment they needed from a range of healthcare professionals.

Caring

Good

Updated 7 April 2016

The service was caring.

We found that the atmosphere at the home was relaxed and friendly and interactions observed between people who used the service, relatives and staff were pleasant, polite and often good humoured.

Managers and staff knew people who used the service well and had good knowledge of their needs, likes and dislikes.

Responsive

Good

Updated 7 April 2016

The service was responsive.

Care plans and risk assessments contained good information about the care and support people required. This included information where people lived with dementia about known triggers that may affect their behaviours.

A range of activities was in place at the home, which people enjoyed. Staff would like to develop a wider range of activities for people who lived with advanced dementia.

There was a system in place for recording, investigating and acting upon complaints about the service.

Well-led

Good

Updated 7 April 2016

The service was well led.

The service had a manager who was registered with the Care Quality Commission (CQC). People spoke positively about the registered manager and the improvements they had made since they started at the home.

People who used the service, relatives and staff told us that the registered manager, the new regional manager, clinical manager and the house managers were approachable and supportive.

There were quality assurance systems in place for assessing, monitoring and reviewing the service. There were also systems in place for gathering people�s views and opinions and acting upon them to help improve the service.