You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 5 June 2018

Albemarle is a residential care home for up to 42 older people including those living with dementia. At the time of our inspection there were 41 people living at the home. The home is set out over two floors with communal areas and access to a large secure garden area. There is a passenger lift to assist people to get to the upper floor.

The inspection took place on 2 May 2018 and was unannounced.

At our last inspection we rated the service good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good. There was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

At our previous inspection in November 2015, we made a recommendation that the registered manager followed the latest guidance on notifications that are required to be submitted to the Care Quality Commission (CQC). At this inspection we checked and found the registered manager had notified the CQC of certain important events as part of their registration.

At our previous inspection in November 2015, we made a recommendation that the registered manager sought advice in regards to their quality management systems so that appropriate and accurate records were held. At this inspection we checked and found the registered manager completed quality assurance checks to maintain standards of service and identify any areas for improvement.

Staff had received appropriate training to ensure people were protected from avoidable harm and abuse. Systems and processes were maintained to record, evaluate and action any outcomes where safeguarding concerns had been raised.

The provider maintained safe staffing levels. Staff recruitment included pre-employment checks that meant only suitable employees were recruited to work in the home.

People received appropriate care and support to meet their individual needs because staff were supported to have the skills, knowledge and supervision they needed to carry out their roles.

Assessments of risks associated with people’s care and support and for their environment had been completed. Support plans provided information for staff and other health professionals to ensure people received safe care and support without undue restrictions in place.

Systems and processes ensured safe management of medicines and infection control.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

The registered provider was committed to providing people with a positive caring partnership with staff who were clear about the importance of paying attention to people’s well-being, privacy, dignity and independence.

The provider equipped staff with the skills and knowledge to appreciate and respond to the principles of equality and diversity. The provider ensured everybody received care and support that reflected their wishes and preferences. Records were being reviewed to improve this information.

People were included in discussions about their care and support and associated information was person centred. Records were evaluated for their effectiveness and amended to ensure they were up to date and reflective of the person’s current needs.

Staff supported people with everyday choices and to enjoy a variety of meaningful activities.

Systems and processes were in place to support people should they need to raise a complaint.

People, their relatives, staff and other health professionals were consulted with and their views and feedback used to help shape the service and maintain high standards of care and support.

Further information is in the detailed findings below.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 5 June 2018

The service remains Good

Effective

Good

Updated 5 June 2018

The service remains Good

Caring

Good

Updated 5 June 2018

The service remains Good

Responsive

Good

Updated 5 June 2018

The service remains Good

Well-led

Good

Updated 5 June 2018

The service has improved to Good