You are here

We are carrying out a review of quality at Famille House. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 25 April 2017

We carried out an inspection on 3 April 2017. We gave the provider 48 hours’ notice of our inspection because many of the people who use the service go out and we wanted them to know we would be available for them to speak with us.

Famille House is registered to provide care for up to 16 people living with learning disabilities. Accommodation is on two floors. There are two communal lounges and a dining room. At the time of our inspection 12 people were using the service.

At our last inspection in April 2015, the service was rated ‘Good’. At this inspection we found that the service remained ‘Good’ for being safe, effective, caring, responsive and well-led.

People continued to receive safe care. They were supported by staff who knew how to recognise and report any signs that people were abused or at risk of abuse.

The provider had assessed risks relating to people’s care to help them to remain safe. The provider had procedures in place for staff to report concerns and for those concerns to be investigated and acted upon.

Staff were appropriately recruited and there were enough staff to provide care and support to people to meet their needs. People were supported to receive their medicines safely.

The care that people received continued to be effective. Staff had access to the support, supervision and training that they required to work effectively in their roles. People were supported to maintain good health and nutrition.

People developed positive relationships with the staff that were caring and treated them with respect, kindness and dignity.

People had care plans in place that were focused on them as individuals. This allowed staff to provide consistent support in line with people’s personal preferences.

People’s needs were met in line with their individual care plans and assessed needs. Staff understood people’s needs and provided care and support that was tailored to their needs.

People and their relatives felt they could raise a concern and the provider had systems to manage any complaints that they may receive.

The provider had effective arrangements for monitoring and assessing the quality of care people experienced. These included seeking and acting upon the views for people who used the service, their relatives, staff and health professionals who visited the service.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 25 April 2017

The service remained safe.

Effective

Good

Updated 25 April 2017

The service remained effective.

Caring

Good

Updated 25 April 2017

The service remained caring.

Responsive

Good

Updated 25 April 2017

The service remained responsive.

Well-led

Good

Updated 25 April 2017

The service remained well led.