You are here

Archived: Perry Locks Care Home Requires improvement

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 15 March 2017

This focused inspection took place on 10 and 11January 2017. Our last inspection of this service was on 29 and 30 June 2016. At that time we found that although improvements had been made since the previous inspection in June 2015 some further developments were required to ensure that the service was fully compliant with the regulations. Following our inspection in June 2016 we received some concerns about staffing levels at the service and there was also information that raised concern about people’s safety.

This report covers our findings in relation to this unannounced focused inspection where we only looked at the domain of ‘Safe’. We visited the service at night and returned the next day to complete the inspection. You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection by

Selecting the 'all reports' link for Perry Locks Nursing Home on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Perry Locks Nursing Home is registered to provide accommodation and nursing care for 128 people who have nursing or dementia care needs. There were 118 people living there at the time of our inspection. The home is purpose built and consists of four separate buildings. Perry Well House is for people with dementia. Brooklyn House, Calthorpe House and Lawrence House provide nursing care for older people. The service had a number of intermediate beds across the four houses. Intermediate beds means specialist care to people who have been discharged from hospital but need extra care and support before they return home.

There was a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People did not always receive care and support in a timely manner and improvements were needed to ensure that there were enough staff to care for people safely at night. Improvements were needed to the management of medicines, to the support people received to eat safely and to ensure that systems in place for ensuring people’s safety were well established. You can see what action we asked the provider to take at the back of this report.

People were protected by robust recruitment procedures and staff received training and told us they were aware of their responsibility to protect people from the risk of abuse. Staff told us that they knew what to do to ensure people’s safety in the event of a fire and or an emergency.

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 15 March 2017

The service was not safe

People were not always supported by enough members of staff

to meet their needs. Further improvements were needed to ensure that safe medicine management systems were in place. People did not always receive the support required to ensure safe and consistent practice.

The provider's recruitment systems and processes ensured that staff were

recruited safely.

We will review our rating for safe at the next comprehensive

inspection.

Effective

Good

Updated 15 March 2017

Caring

Good

Updated 15 March 2017

Responsive

Good

Updated 15 March 2017

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 15 March 2017