You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 28 April 2018

We inspected this service on 15 March 2018. The inspection was unannounced. Since our previous inspection in January 2016 we have reviewed and refined our assessment framework, which was published in October 2017. Under the new framework certain key areas have moved, such as support for people when behaviour challenges, which has moved from effective to safe. Therefore, for this inspection, we have inspected all key questions under the new framework, and also reviewed the previous key questions to make sure all areas were inspected to validate the ratings.

Albemarle Rest Home is a residential care home for up to 24 people, who may live with dementia. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as a single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

The accommodation is arranged over three floors, with a lift to the first floor, to support people to move around the home safely. At the time of this inspection, seventeen people were living at the home.

At our last inspection we rated the service as ‘good’ overall, with a rating of ‘requires improvement’ in well-led. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and the improvements required in leadership and governance of the service had been made. There was no evidence or information from our inspection and on-going monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

The service had a registered manager in place. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission (CQC) to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Improvements since our previous inspection included support for the registered manager to access the management information that was kept securely in the provider’s office. The registered manager now had access to the internet, which enabled them to understand their professional responsibilities and to keep up to date with any changes in the legislation and guidance for providers.

Premises risk assessments were included in the registered manager’s daily checks and any repairs were planned for and undertaken promptly. People and relatives assured us their views were welcomed and taken into account for any planned changes and improvements in the service.

Improvements had been made in supporting staff to attend training and to obtain nationally recognised certificates and qualifications in health and social care. The registered manager and senior staff conducted daily checks of medicines administration to ensure they were managed and administered safely.

Staff were trained to understand, recognise and report any safeguarding concerns, and this reduced the risks of people being harmed. The registered manager checked staff were suitable for their role before they started working at the home and made sure there were enough suitably skilled, qualified and experienced staff to support people safely.

Risks to people’s individual health and wellbeing were assessed and their care was planned to minimise the risks. People’s needs were assessed using recognised risk assessment tools and staff were trained in subjects that matched people’s needs. People were supported to eat and drink enough to maintain a balanced diet that met their needs and preferences.

People were supported to maintain their health and were referred to healthcare professionals when their health needs changed. People continued to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible

People, relatives and staff felt well cared for. Staff understood people’s diverse needs and interests and supported them to maintain their independence. Staff respected people’s right to privacy and supported people to maintain their dignity.

People were supported and encouraged to socialise in the home and in the local community and to enjoy their lives according to their preferences. People's care plans were regularly reviewed and updated when their needs changed. People and relatives had no complaints about the service.

People and relatives knew the registered manager well. They were invited to share their views of the service through regular, individual conversations with the registered manager. The registered manager regularly checked the quality of the service to make sure people’s needs were met safely and effectively.

Further information is in the detailed findings below.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 28 April 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 28 April 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 28 April 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 28 April 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 28 April 2018

The service has improved to Good.

The provider had made improvements to enable the registered manager to access management information, and information and guidance about their legal responsibilities. Premises risk assessments had improved and resulted in prompt repairs being completed. The registered manager continued to check and maintain the quality of the service through regular audits of people�s care and staff�s practice and by supporting staff�s training. Actions were taken to improve the premises and quality of the service by listening to people�s and relatives' views of the service.