You are here

Horton Cross Nursing Home Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 31 August 2018

This unannounced inspection was carried on 21 August 2018.

Horton Cross Nursing home is a care home registered to provide care and accommodation for up to 47 people. The home specialises in the care of older people. At the time of the inspection there were 41 people living at the home.

At our last inspection, in March 2016, we rated the service good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

.

At this inspection we found the service remained Good.

Why the service is rated Good.

People lived in a home where staff morale was good which created a happy and relaxed atmosphere. One person told us, “Staff are always happy and chatty.”

People received safe care and support from adequate numbers of staff who had the skills and experience to meet their needs.

Staff were kind and caring and treated people with respect and dignity. One person said, “If I had to sum up the staff I would say, very caring and loving.”

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

People’s health was monitored by trained nurses and they had access to other healthcare professionals to meet their individual needs. People received their medicines safely.

People’s nutritional needs were assessed and met. People received the support they required to eat their meals and were happy with the food provided. One person told us, “I’m a fussy eater but they are brilliant. If I don’t want what’s on the menu they make me something different.”

People were treated as individuals and staff supported people to make choices about their day to day lives. Staff knew people well and provided care that was personalised to their wishes and needs.

The home was well led by a stable management team. The management team kept up to date with good practice to make sure people’s care was provided in accordance with best practice guidelines and current legislation.

There were effective quality assurance systems which monitored standards of care and addressed any shortfalls in the service.

Further information is in the detailed findings below.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 31 August 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 31 August 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 31 August 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 31 August 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 31 August 2018

The service remains Good.