You are here

Castlegate House Residential Home Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 23 June 2021

About the service

Castlegate House Residential Home is a residential care home providing personal and nursing care to 15 people aged 65 and over at the time of the inspection. The service can support up to 20 people in one adapted building.

People’s experience of using this service and what we found

People living at the service were supported in a safe and person-centred way. The risks to their safety were assessed and measures were in place to manage these risks.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible and in their best interests; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

People were supported by adequate numbers of staff who had been trained to provide effective care.

People were supported by kind caring staff and the registered manager had quality monitoring processes in place to support the continuation of effective care for people.

Staff felt well supported by the management team.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk

Rating at last inspection (and update) The last rating for this service was requires improvement (published 10 April 2020).

Why we inspected

We carried out an unannounced comprehensive inspection of this service on 18 February 2020. Breaches of legal requirements were found around safe care and treatment and good governance. The provider completed an action plan after the last inspection to show what they would do and by when to improve.

We undertook this focused inspection to check they had followed their action plan and to confirm they now met legal requirements. This report only covers our findings in relation to the Key Questions Safe and Well-led which contain those requirements.

The ratings from the previous comprehensive inspection for those key questions not looked at on this occasion were used in calculating the overall rating at this inspection. The overall rating for the service has changed from requires improvement to good. This is based on the findings at this inspection.

As part of this inspection we looked at the infection control and prevention measures in place. This was conducted so we can understand the preparedness of the service in preventing or managing an infection outbreak, and to identify good practice we can share with other services.

You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Castlegate House residential care home on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 23 June 2021

The service was safe.

Details are in our safe findings below.

Effective

Good

Updated 23 June 2021

Caring

Good

Updated 23 June 2021

Responsive

Good

Updated 23 June 2021

Well-led

Good

Updated 23 June 2021

The service was well-led.

Details are in our well-Led findings below.