You are here

Castlegate House Residential Home Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 18 January 2019

This inspection took place on 10 January 2019 and was unannounced.

Castlegate House is a care home that provides accommodation and personal care for a maximum of 20 older people including people who live with dementia or a dementia related condition. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. The Care Quality Commission regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. 19 people were accommodated at the service at the time of inspection.

At our last comprehensive inspection in July 2016 we rated the service good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

At this inspection we found the service remained good.

People said they felt safe and they could speak to staff as they were approachable. People and staff told us they thought there were enough staff on duty to provide safe care to people. Improvements were required to hygiene in some areas of the home. We have made a recommendation to review ancillary staffing levels and staff deployment.

Staff knew about safeguarding procedures. Staff were subject to robust recruitment checks. Arrangements for managing people’s medicines were safe.

Parts of the building were showing signs of wear and tear. We received an action plan straight after the inspection with timescales to show how this would be addressed.

People’s privacy and dignity were not always respected with the use of shared bedrooms. We have made a recommendation to review the use of shared rooms in order to promote people’s rights to privacy and dignity.

Risk assessments were in place and they accurately identified current risks to the person as well as ways for staff to minimise or appropriately manage those risks. Staff knew the needs of the people they supported to provide individual care and records reflected the care provided.

People were involved in decisions about their care. People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible. The policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

Detailed records reflected the care provided by staff. Care was provided with kindness and patience. Communication was effective to ensure people, staff and relatives were kept up-to-date about any changes in people's care and support needs and the running of the service.

People had access to health care professionals to make sure they received appropriate care and treatment. Staff followed advice given by professionals to make sure people received the care they needed. People received a varied and balanced diet to meet their nutritional needs. There were some opportunities for people to follow their interests and hobbies.

Staff were well-supported due to regular supervision, annual appraisals and an induction programme, which developed their understanding of people and their routines.

People had the opportunity to give their views about the service. There was consultation with staff and people and their views were used to improve the service. People said they knew how to complain. The provider undertook a range of audits to check on the quality of care provided.

Further information is in the detailed findings below.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 18 January 2019

The service remains good.

Effective

Good

Updated 18 January 2019

The service remains good.

Caring

Good

Updated 18 January 2019

The service remains good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 18 January 2019

The service remains good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 18 January 2019

The service remains good.