You are here

Real Life Options - 2 Frederick Street Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 27 February 2018

This inspection took place on 31 January 2018 and was announced. We announced the inspection as the service is very small and we wanted to make sure people and staff would be available. We visited the home on 31 January 2018 and we also telephoned a relative on the 2 February 2018.

Frederick Street is a 'care home'. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. Frederick Street accommodated three people at the time of the inspection.

The service was last inspected on December 2015 and the rating for this inspection was Good. At this inspection we found the service remained Good.

Risks to people arising from their health and support needs as well as those relating to the premises were assessed, and plans were in place to minimise them. We have made a recommendation about fire and evacuation drills.

People received their medicine safely and were supported to access the support of health care professionals when needed. The provider had taken steps to minimise the risk of abuse because staff knew how to identify and report it.

There were enough staff to meet people's needs. Robust recruitment and selection procedures were in place and appropriate checks had been undertaken before staff began work. Staff told us they received training to be able to carry out their role. Staff received effective supervision and a yearly appraisal. We have made a recommendation about training.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

People received a varied and nutritional diet.

The interactions between people and staff showed that staff knew the people really well.

Care was planned and delivered in way that responded to people’s assessed needs. Care plans contained detailed information about people’s personal preferences and wishes as well as their life histories.

The management team were approachable and they and the staff team worked in collaboration with external agencies to provide good outcomes for people. Processes were in place to assess and monitor the quality of the service provided and drive improvement.

Further information is in the detailed findings below.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 27 February 2018

The service remained Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 27 February 2018

The service remained Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 27 February 2018

The service remained Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 27 February 2018

The service remained Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 27 February 2018

The service remained Good.