You are here

Eighton Lodge Residential Care Home Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 24 April 2018

Eighton Lodge Residential Care Home is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as a single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during the inspection. Eighton Lodge Residential Care Home provides personal care and accommodation for up to 47 older people, including people with dementia-related conditions. At the time of our inspection there were 36 people using the service.

The inspection took place on 21 November 2017 and was unannounced. This meant staff did not know we were visiting.

We last inspected Eighton Lodge on 10 and 11 October 2016 and rated the service as Requires Improvement. At this inspection we found the service had improved to Good.

The service had a registered manager who was on duty during the course of our visit. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

At our last inspection we found breaches of regulations in relation to building work hazards and risks in relation to cleaning products being securely stored. The provider sent us an action plan telling us when and how these issues had been addressed. We saw these requirements had now been met.

Staff and the management team understood their responsibilities with regard to safeguarding and staff had been trained in safeguarding adults. People and relatives we spoke with told us they felt safe at the home.

Where potential risks had been identified an assessment had been completed to keep people as safe as possible. Health and safety checks were completed and procedures were in place to deal with emergency situations.

The home was clean, and we saw staff followed good practice in relation to wearing personal protective equipment when providing people with care and support. The environment had been extensively refurbished since our last visit and people told us they liked the décor.

Medicines were managed safely. We saw medicines being administered to people in a safe and caring way. People confirmed they received their medicines at the correct time and they were always made available to them. We saw nursing staff working with community professionals to ensure end of life anticipatory medicines were available to people when needed.

We found there were sufficient care staff deployed to provide people’s care in a timely manner. We saw that recruitment checks were carried out to ensure that staff were suitable to work with vulnerable people.

The registered manager shared learning from feedback and safeguarding events with the staff team through recorded meetings. From previous inspection visits by CQC and the local authority in 2016, the registered manager showed us their completed action plan and a recent local authority inspection visit in 2017 had given positive feedback. This showed the service had addressed areas for improvement.

Staff received the support and training they required. Records confirmed training, supervisions and appraisals were up to date. Staff told us they were supported by the home’s management, especially the team leaders.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

People gave positive feedback about the meals they were served at the home. They received the support they needed with eating and drinking by the staff team and we observed people being given choices, using small plates with the meal choices on instead of just a written menu.

We saw people’s healthcare needs were well monitored and records in relation to the monitoring of people’s healt

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 24 April 2018

The service had improved to good.

Staff knew how to recognise and report abuse and were recruited safely.

There were enough trained and experienced staff to meet the needs of the people at the service.

Medicines were stored, administered and recorded in safe and effective ways.

Effective

Good

Updated 24 April 2018

The service remained good.

Caring

Good

Updated 24 April 2018

The service remained good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 24 April 2018

The service remained good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 24 April 2018

The service had improved to good.

There were effective systems in place to monitor and improve the quality of the service provided. Accidents and incidents were monitored by the registered manager to ensure any trends were identified and lessons learnt.

People, staff and relatives all said they could raise any issue with the registered manager or team leaders. The management team maintained a regular presence within the service.

People�s views were sought regarding the running of the service and changes were made and fed-back to everyone receiving the service.