You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 10 August 2018

This inspection took place on 28 June 2018 and 3 July 2018 and was unannounced.

Redstacks is a privately-owned care home in a residential area of Hessle. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as a single package under one contractual agreement. The Care Quality Commission (CQC) regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. The home is registered to provide personal care and accommodation for up to 14 older people, including those with dementia related conditions. At the time of our inspection 13 people were receiving a service.

At our last inspection in February 2016, we rated the service overall good. At this inspection, we found the evidence continued to support the overall rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and on-going monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

The service had a manager in place who was registered with the Care Quality Commission (CQC). A registered manager is a person who has registered with the CQC to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Medicines were managed safely and staff had a good knowledge of the medicine systems and procedures in place to support this. We found staff had been recruited safely and training was provided to meet the needs of people. Staff received regular supervision and appraisal and told us they felt supported in their roles.

Staff received training on safeguarding adults from abuse and understood their responsibilities in respect of protecting people from the risk of harm. Accidents and incidents were responded to appropriately and monitored by the management team. The service was clean and infection control measures were in place. People and relatives spoke positively about the clean and well-maintained environment.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

People’s nutrition and hydration needs were catered for. A choice of meals were offered and drinks and snacks were made readily available throughout the day.

There was a positive caring culture within the service and we observed people were treated with dignity and respect. People’s wider support needs were catered for through the provision of activities provided by care staff and visiting entertainers.

There was a complaints policy and procedure made available to people who received a service and their relatives. All complaints were acknowledged and responded to quickly and efficiently. The service sought feedback from people who received a service; feedback was positive.

There was a range of quality audits in place completed by the management team. These were up-to-date and completed on a regular basis. All of the people we spoke with told us they felt the service was well-led; they felt listened to and could approach management with concerns. Staff told us they enjoyed working at the service and enjoyed their jobs. People spoke highly of the provider who was heavily involved with the day to day running of the service

Further information is in the detailed findings below.

Inspection report


Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 10 August 2018

The service remains good.

Inspection report


Effective

Good

Updated 10 August 2018

The service has improved to good.

Inspection report


Caring

Good

Updated 10 August 2018

The service remains good.

Inspection report


Responsive

Good

Updated 10 August 2018

The service remains good.

Inspection report


Well-led

Good

Updated 10 August 2018

The service remains good.

Inspection report