You are here

We are carrying out a review of quality at Castle Keep. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 26 July 2017

At the last inspection the service was rated Good. At this inspection we found the service remained Good.

Castle Keep is registered to provide personal and nursing care for 61 people. Although the home is registered for 61 people it can only accommodate 49 people. We brought this to the attention of the registered manager who said they would discuss this with senior management and amend as necessary.

Castle Keep is a single storey, purpose built home. The home is divided into two parts, Willow and Nightingale; both support people with nursing care needs. Nightingale can support a maximum of 21 people who are living with complex dementia care needs. Both units have a selection of communal rooms and bathrooms. At the time of inspection there were 49 people living at the home.

We carried out an unannounced comprehensive inspection of this service on 16 December 2014 and gave an overall rating of Good. Since that inspection we received concerns in relation to people receiving the right amount of care. As a result we undertook a focused inspection on 17 March 2016 to look into those concerns. The safe domain was rated as requires improvement as there was a reliance on agency staff until recruitment had been completed.

During this inspection carried out in June 2017 we found improvements had been made. There was less reliance on agency staff, the home was fully staffed and there were appropriate numbers of suitably qualified staff on duty to meet people’s needs.

We received consistent positive feedback about the care provided at Castle Keep from people who lived at the home and their relatives. One relative told us, “It’s absolutely reassuring my [relative] is in a safe, warm place being looked after by caring, experienced staff.”

We observed staff providing support to people throughout our inspection visit. We saw they were kind and patient and showed affection towards people in their care. Staff were seen to maintain people's dignity throughout the day.

Staff had been recruited safely, received ongoing training relevant to their role and were supported by the registered manager. They had the skills, knowledge and experience required to support people in their care. People told us there was enough staff on duty and the staff came quickly to any requests for support.

Staff knew people they supported and provided a personalised service. Care plans were organised and had identified the care and support people required. Care records were informative about care people had received.

Risk assessments had been developed to minimise the potential risk of harm to people during the delivery of their care. These had been kept under review and were relevant to the care provided.

Systems were in place to reduce people being at risk of harm and potential abuse. Staff had received up to date safeguarding training and understood the provider's safeguarding adult’s procedures.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service support this practice.

We looked around the building and found it had been maintained, was clean, hygienic and a safe place for people to live. We found equipment had been serviced and maintained as required.

We found medication procedures at the home were safe. Staff responsible for the administration of medicines had received training to ensure they had the competency and skills required. Medicines were safely kept with appropriate arrangements for storing in place.

People who lived at the home told us the quality of the food was good. Records showed people were assessed to identify the risks associated with poor nutrition and hydration. Where risks had been identified, staff had made appropriate referrals to health care professionals.

The registered manager used a variety of methods to assess and monitor the quality of the service. These included regular audits and relative surveys

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 26 July 2017

We found that action had been taken to improve safety.

People told us they felt safe. Processes were in place to protect people from abuse. Staff were aware of their responsibilities in responding to abuse.

The service had recruitment procedures in place to ensure staff employed were of a suitable character.

Good practice guidelines were considered and implemented to ensure safe management of medicines.

The registered manager ensured there were appropriate numbers of suitably trained staff on duty to meet the needs of people who used the service.

Effective

Good

Updated 26 July 2017

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 26 July 2017

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 26 July 2017

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 26 July 2017

The service remains Good.