You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 7 June 2018

This inspection took place on 10 and 11 April 2018 and was unannounced. Brook House is a ‘care home’ with nursing. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as a single package under one contractual agreement. The Care Quality Commission [CQC] regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

The home is owned and operated by Barchester Healthcare Homes Limited. Brook House is registered to provide care and accommodation for up to 47 people. At the time of the inspection there were 45 people living in the home.

At our last inspection on 4 April 2016 the home met regulations inspected and was rated good. The home remained good at this inspection.

There was a registered manager in post at the time of our inspection. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission (CQC) to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People who lived in the home and their relatives told us they were satisfied with the care provided in the home and spoke positively about care staff and management at the home. Some people in the home had complex needs and were therefore unable to provide us with feedback. We therefore spent time observing interaction between people and staff. During the inspection we observed people were well cared for and appeared relaxed and comfortable in the presence of care staff. We observed positive engagement between staff and people. Staff were respectful of people and showed a good understanding of each person’s needs and abilities.

Risks to people had been assessed, updated and regularly reviewed to ensure people were safe and risks to people in relation to treatment or care were minimised.

People we spoke with told us they felt safe in the home and around staff and this was confirmed by relatives we spoke with. Staff had received training on how to identify abuse and understood their responsibilities in relation to safeguarding people, including reporting concerns relating to people’s safety and well-being.

Skin integrity was effectively managed by the home. We saw good evidence of diligent skincare and clear guidance was detailed in care plans. Pressure sore repositioning charts were well maintained for people at high risk of developing pressure ulcers.

Medicines were managed safely and staff were appropriately trained. We however found that there was no provision to dispose of unwanted cytotoxic medicines [medicines that have a toxic effect on cells] at the home and made a recommendation in respect of this.

We discussed staffing levels with management and they advised that staffing levels were assessed depending on people's needs and occupancy levels. The home used their own dependency tool to monitor this. The majority of staff we spoke with told us there were sufficient numbers of staff to safely meet people’s individual care needs. During the inspection, we observed staff did not appear to be rushed and were able to complete their tasks.

The home had appropriate fire and emergency systems in place. There was a record of essential maintenance carried out and this was monitored and maintained by the home's maintenance manager.

Staff received on-going training and spoke positively about the training they received. Regular supervisions and appraisals ensured staff performance was monitored.

All staff we spoke with told us they were well supported by management at the home and said that morale in the home was positive.

People received a comprehensive initial assessment of their needs with their families’ involvement before moving into the home. The pre-admission assessment included information about people’s health and care needs. Individualised care support plans were then prep

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 7 June 2018

The home remained good.

Effective

Good

Updated 7 June 2018

The home remained good.

Caring

Good

Updated 7 June 2018

The home remained good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 7 June 2018

The home remains good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 7 June 2018

The home remained good.