You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 14 November 2019

About the service

Austen House is a care home with nursing providing personal and nursing care to 57 people aged 65 and over at the time of the inspection. The service can support up to 79 people. Accommodation is provided in four units. One of the four units was closed for refurbishment when we visited.

People’s experience of using this service and what we found

The previous registered manager left the service in August 2018. There followed a 10-month period where there were a number of different interim managers with one manager who registered in April 2019 and then left four months later. During that time the staff team worked very hard to minimise the impact the management changes and uncertainty had on the people who live at the service. The registered manager at the time of this inspection started working at the service in June 2019 and became registered on 25 September 2019. The staff team, together with the provider management team, succeeded in making the required improvements and had met the six breaches of regulations found at the last inspection. The registered manager was clear on improvements that were still needed at the service and had well thought out plans in place to address them.

People benefitted from receiving support from staff who were happy in their work and felt well managed and supported. They benefitted from a service which had an open and inclusive culture and encouraged suggestions and ideas for improvement from people who use the service, their relatives and staff.

People received effective care and support from staff who knew them well and were well trained. They were protected from the risks of abuse and felt safe living at the service. Risks to people’s personal safety had been assessed and plans were in place to minimise those risks. Medicines were handled correctly and safely. Staff recruitment and staffing levels supported people to stay safe while going about their daily lives as independently as possible.

People's rights to make their own decisions were protected. They were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

People were treated with care and kindness. They were consulted about their care and support and could change how things were done if they wanted to. People were treated with respect and their dignity was upheld. This was confirmed by a relative who provided feedback. People's diverse needs were identified and met and their right to confidentiality was protected.

People received care and support that was personalised to meet their individual needs. Staff worked well together for the benefit of people and were focused on the needs of people living at the service.

Rating at last inspection and update

The last rating for this service was Requires Improvement (published 15 October 2018) and there were six breaches of regulations. The provider completed an action plan after the last inspection to show what they would do and by when to improve. At this inspection we found improvements had been made and the provider was no longer in breach of regulations.

Why we inspected

This was a planned inspection based on the previous rating.

Follow up

We will continue to monitor information we receive about the service until we return to visit as per our re-inspection programme. If we receive any concerning information we may inspect sooner.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 14 November 2019

The service was safe.

Details are in our safe findings below.

Effective

Good

Updated 14 November 2019

The service was effective.

Details are in our effective findings below.

Caring

Good

Updated 14 November 2019

The service was caring.

Details are in our caring findings below.

Responsive

Good

Updated 14 November 2019

The service was responsive.

Details are in our responsive findings below.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 14 November 2019

The service was not always well-led.

Details are in our well-led findings below.