You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 4 April 2018

Fair View Lodge is operated by Peninsula Autism Services & Support Limited, and is registered as a care home without nursing to provide accommodation to three people living with autistic spectrum disorders or learning disabilities. Each person has their own flat within the building and people can choose to spend time together or apart as they wish, using some shared facilities.

This inspection took place on 10 January 2018 and was announced. The service was given short notice of the inspection (24 Hours). This was to ensure someone was available to support us with the inspection, and to ensure people living at the service were aware in advance people were visiting.

We had previously inspected the service on 25 November 2015, when the service was rated as good in all areas. We found this good practice had been sustained. The service had demonstrated continuous improvement since this inspection in 2015 and we have rated them as Good overall with a rating of Outstanding for the key question of well led.

The service has a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Fair View Lodge had a well understood, positive and open culture, with a clear set of values and ethos. We saw evidence of strong leadership both within the service and the wider organisation. The service had a strong person centred focus in all areas, and a positive and supportive atmosphere. Staff understood their roles and worked well as a team to support people to achieve and have new experiences as well as manage risks. Success was celebrated and learning took place to help improve the service and people’s lives. The registered manager and management team were enthusiastic and creative in supporting people, recognising people’s potential and ensuring resources and facilities were available to support this.

Feedback we received about the service was overwhelmingly positive. Relatives for example told us “This is the best placement ever” and “When I get there, I do see the caring. It is there, it is genuine, I am thrilled with them. It’s the best place they have ever lived.” Visiting professionals told us the service provided a high standard of person centred care.

The service operated along the principles of positive behavioural support or PBS. This is a way of helping people with learning disabilities who are at risk of anxious or distressed behaviours to have the best quality of life they can. The registered manager had achieved a BTEC qualification in positive behavioural support, and the service was supported by a PBS practitioner, who was involved in writing support plans, delivering training and working with the staff teams to support people with specific issues. We saw and heard how people had been supported consistently to have new experiences, establish communication in more positive ways and build more positive relationships. A relative shared with us their experience of how their relation had progressed since being at the service, including how their world was “opening up”. Another person had recently been able to re-establish contacts with family members and have a greater involvement in the community.

Staff told us “I love it here – I’m really passionate about it” and “I love it, it’s great…I ask a lot of questions, and there is very good support from the management and the team”. Staff spoke positively about the people they were supporting. A staff member told us “I can’t wait to get in here every morning and see what we can do today, how we can keep working to give people new opportunities.”

Each person had a comprehensive care plan, based on a regularly updated assessment and positive behavioural support principles. Plans were very p

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 4 April 2018

The service remains good.

Effective

Good

Updated 4 April 2018

The service remains good.

Caring

Good

Updated 4 April 2018

The service remains good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 4 April 2018

The service remains good.

Well-led

Outstanding

Updated 4 April 2018

The service is outstanding.

There was a strong positive person centred culture, where both people living at the service and staff were encouraged to develop new skills, increase their confidence and experience new opportunities.

There was a strong emphasis on continually striving to improve the service and people�s lives.

The registered manager and other members of the management team both within and outside the service operated clear systems for assessing the quality of the service, reviewing and learning from incidents and reflecting on good practice.

Staff worked well as a team; they had clear guidance on their role and expectations and a shared vision of care through the service�s operational values.