You are here

Alfred House Residential Care Home Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 10 November 2018

This unannounced inspection took place on 15 October 2018. We had previously carried out an inspection on 18 and 22 February 2016 when we found the service had complied with all the regulations we reviewed.

Alfred House is a 'care home'. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as a single package under one contractual agreement. We regulate both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

Alfred House is located in Bury. Alfred House consists of two large adjoining terraced properties made into one. The property is close to Bury town centre. The home has good transport links into Bury and Manchester and there is a park, shops and other amenities close by.

Alfred House provides accommodation for up to ten people with mental health needs who require support with personal care. Ten people were living at Alfred House at the time of our inspection.

At our last inspection in February 2016 we rated the service good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

The service had a manager who was registered with us. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have the legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act and associated Regulations about how the service is run. The registered manager of Alfred House was also the registered provider for the service.

People said staff treated them with kindness and compassion. Comments included, "The staff here are good to me, very supportive, and “I can rely on the staff to help me with everything that I need.”

Staff knew people's care needs, preferences, personal histories and backgrounds. People said staff protected their privacy and their dignity was respected. People were supported to be independent.

People received care from staff who were appropriately trained to effectively carry out their job roles. People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives. The service acted in accordance with the Mental Capacity Act (2005). People's nutritional needs were met and they were supported to maintain good health and receive ongoing healthcare support.

Staff were aware of their responsibilities to safeguard people from abuse. Safe recruitment practices were in place and the service followed national and local safeguarding guidance. There were sufficient staff to care for people. Risks to people's safety were assessed and medicines were administered safely.

People received personalised care that met their individual needs. People were given appropriate support and encouragement to access meaningful activities and follow their individual interests.

We found that records were written in a positive and respectful way and provided guidance on how to support people.

Alfred House had arrangements in place to receive feedback from people that used the service, their relatives, external stakeholders and staff members about the services provided.

We found that records were sufficiently maintained and effective systems were in place to monitor the quality of the service.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 10 November 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 10 November 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 10 November 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 10 November 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 10 November 2018

The service remains Good.