You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 22 November 2018

We inspected the service on 29 October 2018. The inspection was announced. We gave the registered manager 24 hours’ notice of our inspection because the service is a small service where people and staff are often out and we wanted to be sure someone would be in.

Hayes Close is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. The service accommodates seven people. On the day of our inspection seven people were using the service.

The care service had not originally been developed and designed in line with the values that underpin the Registering the Right Support and other best practice guidance. These values include choice, promotion of independence and inclusion. People with learning disabilities and autism using the service can live as ordinary a life as any citizen. However, people were given choices and their independence and participation within the local community encouraged.

At our last inspection on 23 March 2016 we rated the service ‘good.’ At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of ‘good’ overall but there had been a deterioration in well led which was rated as ‘requires improvement’. There was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

People continued to receive a safe service where they were protected from avoidable harm, discrimination and abuse. Risks associated with people’s needs had been assessed and planned for. Risk assessments were reviewed monthly to ensure they reflected people’s most up to date circumstances. Staff followed the information in people’s risk assessments which ensured that people consistently experienced care and support that was safe. People did not have any undue restrictions placed upon them and were encouraged to be as independent as possible.

There were sufficient suitably skilled and experienced staff to consistently meet people’s needs. Safe staff recruitment procedures were in place and used to ensure that only staff who met the services high standards worked there. People received their prescribed medicines safely and these were managed in line with best practice guidance. Accidents and incidents were analysed for lessons learnt and these were shared with the staff team to reduce further reoccurrence and protect people from harm.

People continued to receive an effective service. Staff received the training and support that was specific and relevant to people’s individual needs. People were supported with their nutritional needs. The staff worked very well with external health care professionals, people were supported with their needs and accessed health services when required. People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice. The principles of the Mental Capacity Act (MCA) were followed.

People continued to receive care from staff who were kind, compassionate and treated them with dignity and respected their privacy. Staff had developed positive relationships with the people they supported. They had a very good understanding of people’s needs, preferences, and what was important to them. Staff used innovative and creative means of communication with people who had communication difficulties. They knew how to comfort people when they were distressed and made sure that emotional support was provided. People’s independence was promoted and they were supported to make informed choices about their care and support.

People continued to receive a responsive service that was strongly focused on their

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 22 November 2018

The service remains good.

Effective

Good

Updated 22 November 2018

The service remains good.

Caring

Good

Updated 22 November 2018

The service remains good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 22 November 2018

The service remains good.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 22 November 2018

The service has deteriorated to requires improvement because statutory notifications had not been made to the CQC.