You are here

The Local Care Company (Bolton) Limited Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 28 July 2018

We carried out an announced inspection of The Local Care Company on 08 June 2018. We also gathered the views of people who used the service and staff members via telephone calls between the 10 and 13 June 2018.

The Local Care Company is a domiciliary care agency. It provides personal care to people living in their own houses and flats in the community. Not everyone using The Local Care Company receives regulated activity; the CQC only inspects the service being received by people provided with 'personal care'; help with tasks related to personal hygiene and eating. Where they do we also consider any wider social care provided.

At the time of the inspection, there were 74 people receiving a regulated service from The Local Care Company.

We last inspected the service in June 2016 when we rated the overall service to be good. Although the service was rated as good overall, it was rated as requires improvement in the responsive key line of enquiry (KLOE). This was because we identified a breach of the regulations of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014; person centred care.

Following the last inspection, we asked the provider to complete an action plan to show what they would do and by when to improve the key question; responsive to at least good. We received this in July 2016. During this inspection we found the provider had addressed the previous regulatory breach and was now meeting all requirements of the regulations.

At this inspection the rating for the responsive KLOE had improved to good. We found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

At the time of our inspection, there was a manager in post who had not yet been registered with the Care Quality Commission (CQC), however we saw evidence that this application had been submitted and their application was on going. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

All the people spoken with told us they were safe because of the care they received. We saw people were supported by a consistent staff team and they told us staff were punctual and reliable.

Risks to people had been assessed and were managed safely. People's health, dietary and fluid needs were identified and met. Processes were in place to safeguard people from the risk of abuse.

We found medicines were managed safely. The service had effective systems in place to ensure medicines were given appropriately.

Staff continued to receive an effective induction in to the service and had ongoing training and support to meet the requirements of their role.

The staff were familiar with the requirements of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 and acted in accordance with this legislation.

People told us that the staff respected their privacy and dignity and promoted their independence where possible.

People were encouraged to make decisions and choices about their care and these were respected by the staff supporting them. They spoke fondly of the staff and regarded them as caring and considerate people.

People received personalised care that was responsive to their needs and care plans were complimented by electronic guidance which could be inputted and updated as changes in care needs occurred to ensure staff had access to the most up to date guidance.

People and staff were familiar with the complaints process and we saw complaints had been handled efficiently to support the complaint to be resolved.

People an

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 28 July 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 28 July 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 28 July 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 28 July 2018

The service has improved to Good

People received personalised care that was responsive to their needs.

Care plans contained information about people�s likes, dislikes and how they wished to be supported.

There was a clear complaints process in place and we saw complaints had been responded to timely.

Well-led

Good

Updated 28 July 2018

The service remains Good