You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 1 November 2017

The inspection took place on 27 and 28 September 2017 and was announced. This meant we gave the provider 48 hours’ notice of our intended visit to ensure someone would be available in the office to meet us.

The service was last inspected in June 2015, at which time the service was compliant with all CQC regulations. At the previous inspection we rated the service good. At this inspection the service remained good.

Hagan Hall is an on-site domiciliary care and support service for people who are tenants within the Hagan Hall sheltered housing scheme. The service has twenty four self-contained flats. There were 15 people using the service at the time of our inspection.

The service had a registered manager in place. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

We found care was delivered safely by staff who were appropriately trained. There were sufficient numbers of staff to meet the needs of people who used the service.

New staff underwent pre-employment Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS) and other checks to ensure they were suitable to work with people who may be vulnerable.

Risks were managed through pre-assessment and ongoing assessment. Staff displayed a good knowledge of the risks people faced and how to help them reduce these risks.

There were no medicines errors on the Medication Administration Records (MAR) we viewed and staff had received medicines administration training. Their competence was assessed annually. The registered manager undertook medicines audits and we found no concerns in this regard.

New staff received an induction and all staff completed mandatory training, including safeguarding, health and safety, fire safety, infection control and food hygiene. Not all staff had received training in dementia awareness – the registered manager agreed to address this to ensure the service was better prepared to meet the needs of people who may develop dementias.

Staff told us they were well supported and we saw supervisions and appraisals were in place, as well as regular meetings. Team morale was strong and staff told us they felt confident in raising and questions or concerns openly.

People consistently told us they were happy with how staff supported them with their choice of meals although we noted the service could do more to promote people choosing and preparing healthier alternatives.

External professionals we spoke with agreed the care they had observed was to a good standard and that people were treated in a dignified way that respected their individualities.

People contributed to their own care planning and were involved in reviews, with family members also involved. Where people’s needs changed, external professionals told us that staff worked with them to ensure people’s needs were met.

Care plans contained sufficient person-centred information for staff to have a good knowledge of people’s backgrounds, whilst the keyworker system meant staff were generally able to speak in detail about people’s individual likes, dislikes and histories.

The service had a complaints policy in place and people who used the service knew how to complain and who to, should the need arise. People had been supported to make complaints about matters important to them.

People who used the service and staff told us the registered manager was fair, approachable and supportive. We found them and the service manager to have a clear vision about how the service could continue to improve and focus on supporting people to achieve specific outcomes in the future.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 1 November 2017

The service remained good.

Effective

Good

Updated 1 November 2017

The service remained good.

Caring

Good

Updated 1 November 2017

The service remained good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 1 November 2017

The service remained good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 1 November 2017

The service remained good.