You are here

Caritas Care Limited - 218 Tulketh Road Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 30 August 2018

Caritas Care is a domiciliary care agency, which provides personal care and treatment of disease, disorder or injury to people in the local community. At the time of our inspection, the service supported 43 people in their own homes. Additionally, they supported 17 people across eight supported living houses. The service is available to people of all ages whose needs range from mild, moderate or complex learning disabilities and associated medical conditions. The agency is situated in the Ashton area of Preston.

At our last inspection in March 2016, we rated the service as good overall. Under safe and effective we rated the service as requires improvement because we found breaches of legal requirements. This was because the provider had not fully ensured staff were aware of procedures to report safeguarding concerns. The contact details of the appropriate agencies were not up-to-date and we could not determine if restrictive practice procedures had been followed lawfully. Additionally, there was limited evidence to show why people did or did not consent with their full understanding. After the comprehensive inspection in March 2016, the provider wrote to us to say what they would do to meet legal requirements in relation to the breaches.

At this inspection, we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. The provider also demonstrated they had implemented and embedded good practice and were meeting the requirements of the regulations. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

During this inspection, we found the provider had updated safeguarding and other relevant policies and the contact details of responsible authorities. Staff had relevant training and we found the management team reviewed any lessons learnt to maintain everyone’s safety and welfare.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible. The policies and systems in the service supported this practice. We found the management team had obtained each person’s consent to care, or their representatives where this was applicable. A relative of a person who lived at one of the supported living houses told us, “It’s a democratic house where the staff help people to make decisions. They act as their advocates, which is very important to me.”

People who received support in their own homes or a supported living house told us they felt safe using Caritas Care. A relative said, “My [relative] is very safe.” The registered manager reinforced this by guiding staff to support each person safely when they used the service. We also saw good systems to manage, review and mitigate accidents and incidents within the service.

The management team had implemented and completed audits to improve the quality and safety of their medicines procedures. We observed staff administered medication with a safe and patient approach. People told us they received their medicines on time and as required.

The registered manager followed safe recruitment procedures to reduce the risk of employing unsuitable personnel. Staff told us teams they worked in were sufficient to meet people’s needs with a timely approach. A relative commented, “There is excellent continuity of care. Having the same carers and being able to build up that trust in familiarity is a huge thing.” The registered manager had a training programme staff were required to complete and refresh themselves with.

Where applicable, we saw care plans evidenced staff worked with people to develop a healthy lifestyle. They were supported with their cooking skills by helping to make meals of their choice.

We observed staff and the management team had a kind and caring approach to people they supported. A relative

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 30 August 2018

We found action had been taken to improve the safety of the home.

Staff received training and demonstrated good levels of awareness about protecting people from unsafe care or abuse.

We found the provider had reviewed and improved their medication procedures.

The registered manager obtained required checks to assess the suitability of potential staff.

People who used the service and relatives stated there were sufficient levels of staff to deliver their care packages.

Effective

Good

Updated 30 August 2018

We found action had been taken to improve the effectiveness of the home.

The management team had improved their systems to assist people and their representatives to make informed decisions.

We noted staff had training in relation to the Mental Capacity Act.

The registered manager completed assessments to assist staff to reduce the risk of malnutrition or obesity.

Staff had completed recognised health and social care qualifications.

Caring

Good

Updated 30 August 2018

The service remains good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 30 August 2018

The service remains good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 30 August 2018

The service remains good.