• Doctor
  • GP practice

The Edmonton Medical Practice

Overall: Good

234 Fore Street, London, N18 2LY (020) 8803 6705

Provided and run by:
Dr Ghazwan Suleiman

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Latest inspection summary

On this page

Overall inspection

Good

Updated 4 August 2016

Letter from the Chief Inspector of General Practice

We undertook an announced focussed inspection of Edmonton Medical Practice on 14 July 2016. We found the practice to be good for providing safe and well led services and it is rated as good overall.

We had previously conducted an announced comprehensive inspection of the practice on 17 December 2015. As a result of our findings during the visit, the practice was rated as good for being effective, caring and responsive, and requires improvement for being safe and well led, which resulted in a rating of requires improvement overall. We found that the provider had breached three regulations of the Health and Social Care Act 2008; Regulation 15 (1) (e) premises and equipment, Regulation 18 (2) (a) staffing and Regulation 19 (1) and (2) fit and proper persons employed.

The practice wrote to us to tell us what they would do to make improvements and meet the legal requirements. We undertook this focussed inspection to check that the practice had followed their plan, and to confirm that they had met the legal requirements.

This report only covers our findings in relation to those areas where requirements had not been met. You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for the Edmonton Medical Practice on our website at http://www.cqc.org.uk/location/1-1245401210/reports. Our key findings across all the areas we inspected were as follows:

  • Practice recruitment policies had been updated to include the obtaining of references.

  • All staff had undertaken safeguarding and infection control training.

  • All portable electrical equipment had been recently tested.

  • All staff who undertook chaperone duties had been trained and received a Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS) check.

  • All patient group directions (PGD’s) were up to date and appropriately signed.

Professor Steve Field CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP 

Chief Inspector of General Practice

People with long term conditions

Good

Updated 4 August 2016

The practice is rated as good for the care of people with long-term conditions. As the practice was found to be providing good services overall, this affected the rating for the population groups we inspect against.

Families, children and young people

Good

Updated 4 August 2016

The practice is rated as good for the care of families, children and young people. As the practice was found to be providing good services overall, this affected the rating for the population groups we inspect against.

Older people

Good

Updated 4 August 2016

The practice is rated as good for the care of older people. As the practice was found to be providing good services overall, this affected the rating for the population groups we inspect against.

Working age people (including those recently retired and students)

Good

Updated 4 August 2016

The practice is rated as good for the care of working age people (including those recently retired and students). As the practice was found to be providing good services overall, this affected the rating for the population groups we inspect against.

People experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia)

Good

Updated 4 August 2016

The practice is rated as good for the care of people experiencing poor mental health (including people with dementia). As the practice was found to be providing good services overall, this affected the rating for the population groups we inspect against.

People whose circumstances may make them vulnerable

Good

Updated 4 August 2016

The practice is rated as good for the care of people whose circumstances may make them vulnerable. As the practice was found to be providing good services overall, this affected the rating for the population groups we inspect against.