You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 11 December 2018

We inspected the service on 20 November 2018. The inspection was unannounced. The Old Rectory is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. The service accommodates up to 24 older people with physical needs and those associated dementia.

On the day of our inspection 16 people were living at the service.

At our last inspection on 29 February 2016 we rated the service ‘good.’ At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of ‘good.’ There was no evidence or information from our inspection and on-going monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

People continued to receive a safe service and were protected from avoidable harm, discrimination and abuse. Staff were safely recruited and available in sufficient numbers to meet people’s needs. Risks associated with people’s needs including those related to the environment, had been assessed and provided in ways which helped to minimise any risks identified. They had also been reviewed regularly and updated when changes were needed.

People continued to receive an effective service. Staff received all of the training and support they required to meet people’s individual needs, including meeting their nutritional needs. Staff worked well with external health care professionals and people were supported to access health services when required. People were supported to make their own choices and staff cared for people in the least restrictive way possible. The registered persons had processes in place which helped make sure that when needed, they acted in accordance with the Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA). This measure is intended to ensure people are supported to make decisions for themselves. When this is not possible the Act requires that decisions are taken in people’s best interests.

CQC is required by law to monitor the operation of the MCA and Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS) and to report on what we find. Through our discussions with the registered manager and staff we were assured that they understood the principles of the MCA and demonstrated their awareness of the need to obtain consent before providing day to day support and care to people. DoLS are in place where needed to protect people when they do not have capacity to make decisions and where it is considered necessary to restrict their freedom in some way, usually to protect themselves. At the time of our inspection, none of the people who lived at the home were subject to an active DoLS authorisation and the registered manager informed us they were awaiting the outcome of five DoLS applications which had been submitted to the local authority for approval.

People continued to receive care from staff who were caring in the way they provided support. It was clear that staff approaches to people were based on understanding of people as individuals.

People continued to receive a responsive service. People were involved in planning for their care needs and regularly reviewing the care being provided. They were supported to pursue their individual interests and hobbies, and group social activities were planned and delivered in creative ways by a team of activity staff who provided opportunities for people to be stimulated and to express themselves.

There was a complaints procedure in place and people and their relatives knew how to raise any concerns or formal complaints if they needed to. Staff told us they felt well supported by the registered manager and provider and that they knew how to escalate any concerns they identified.

The service continued to be well led. There was an open and transparent and person-centred culture within the

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 11 December 2018

The service remains safe.

Effective

Good

Updated 11 December 2018

The service remains effective.

Caring

Good

Updated 11 December 2018

The service remains caring.

Responsive

Good

Updated 11 December 2018

The service remains responsive.

Well-led

Good

Updated 11 December 2018

The service remains well-led.