You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 23 January 2019

This inspection took place on 12 December 2018 and was announced.

We gave the service 48 hours’ notice of our intention to inspect, as the service provides domiciliary care, and managers and staff are often working in the community, so we wanted to be sure someone would be available to speak to us.

Care Connect is a domiciliary care agency. They provide support in people’s own homes. At the time of our inspection Care Connect were supporting over 40 people in the Sefton area.

The service was last inspected in December 2017 and was rated as Requires Improvement overall.

Care Connect provides personal care to people living in their own houses and flats in the community as well as specialist housing. It provides a service to older adults and younger disabled adults. The Care Quality Commission (CQC) only inspects the service being received by people provided with ‘personal care’; help with tasks relating to personal hygiene and eating. Where they do, we also take into account any wider social care provided.

There was a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Everyone we spoke with said they felt safe with the care they received from staff at Care Connect.

There was a variety of risk assessments in place to help keep people safe, however, we found some of these required additional detail.

Staff were being recruited safely. Each staff member had a disclosure and barring service (DBS) check completed before they started this.

Medication was being administered safely to people in their own homes.

Rotas were completed electronically and sent to staff every week. Staff confirmed they had no concerns with their rotas and were often scheduled to visit the same people. There were enough staff to cover calls.

Incidents and accident were documented when they occurred and the registered manager audited these for evidence of any patterns or trends.

Training took place and covered a range of subjects. All training took place in the registered office and was conducted by the in-house training manager who was a qualified trainer. Each new member of the care team who had never worked in health and social care before were expected to complete the Care Certificate.

Supervision for staff took place regularly. Some supervision were due in December 2018.

Records clearly indicated where people had provided their consent to receive care and support from Care Connect and in other instances, where people did not have capacity, decisions were appropriately made in the persons ‘best interest’ and in the least restrictive way as possible.

People confirmed they were supported with their nutrition and hydration needs by the staff.

Everyone we spoke with said they were well cared for by Care Connect. People told us that staff were considerate and mindful of their privacy and dignity. Care plans reflected choice and dignity.

All confidential and sensitive information was securely stored and protected in line with General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR).

Information recorded in the care plans we viewed was person-centred. Care plans contained information about what to do on each call and how the person liked their care routine to be carried out. We saw that some of the care plans would further benefit further personalised information which we discussed with the registered manager at the time of our inspection.

People were getting care which was responsive to their needs. We saw that staff were completing food charts and recording fluid intake for people who required support with their dietary needs

Complaints were documented and responded to appropriately. The complaints policy had been made available to peopl

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 23 January 2019

The service was safe.

People received their medication on time.

Staff recruitment was robust and checks were undertaken before staff started working for the service.

Risks to people were assessed, and there was information on how to manage and reduce these risks.

People told us they felt safe receiving care from Care Connect.

Effective

Good

Updated 23 January 2019

The service was effective.

The staff had the correct training to support people effectively.

Staff received regular supervision and annual appraisals.

People were supported to eat and drink appropriately.

The service was working in accordance with the principles of the Mental Capacity Act and associated legislation.

Caring

Good

Updated 23 January 2019

The service was caring.

People told us staff were kind, caring and treated them with dignity and respect.

People's preferences were largely reflected throughout care plans.

Care plans promoted people's choice and independence.

Responsive

Good

Updated 23 January 2019

The service was responsive.

There was a process in place for recording, acknowledging and responding to complaints. People we spoke with told us they knew how to complain.

People received care which was planned and personalised in accordance to their preferences. Staff demonstrated that they knew people well.

Staff were trained to support people who were on an end of life pathway to remain comfortable in their home with additional support from other medical professionals.

Well-led

Good

Updated 23 January 2019

The service was well-led.

There were polices and procedure in place for staff to follow.

The registered manager was aware of their role and had reported all incidents to the Care Quality Commission as required.

People and staff told us they liked the registered manager and knew them by name.

There was regular auditing taking place of care files, medication and other documentation relating to the running of the service.