You are here

Northfield Nursing Home Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 25 August 2017

Northfield is registered to provide accommodation for up to 63 older people who require nursing or personal care. The accommodation is provided over two floors, accessed by a passenger lift. One floor provides some intermediate care where people are supported to move back to permanent accommodation. Rehabilitation and enablement support is provided from Sheffield Teaching Hospitals physiotherapists and occupational therapists. The further floor provides permanent accommodation. The home is purpose built and situated in a residential area of Sheffield, close to local amenities and transport links. The home has a garden and car park.

There was a manager at the service who was registered with Care Quality Commission (CQC). A registered manager is a person who has registered with the CQC to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Our last inspection at Northfield took place on 9 May 2016. We found two breaches in the regulations of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014, in regard to Regulation 18: Staffing and Regulation 11: Consent. The registered provider sent an action plan detailing how they were going to make improvements. At this inspection we checked improvements the registered provider had made. We found sufficient improvements had been made to meet the requirements of Regulation 18: Staffing, as staff had been provided with an annual appraisal in line with the registered providers policy. We also found sufficient improvements had been made to Regulation 11: Consent, as records were in place to show the registered provider complied with the requirements of the Mental Capacity Act 2005.

This inspection took place on 31 July 2017 and was unannounced. This meant the people who lived at Northfield and the staff who worked there did not know we were coming. On the day of our inspection there were 57 people living at Northfield.

People spoke positively about their experience of living at Northfield. They told us they felt safe and they liked the staff.

Staff were aware of safeguarding procedures and knew what to do if an allegation was made or they suspected abuse.

We found systems were in place to make sure people received their medicines safely so their health was looked after. Some medicines storage required improvement, which was rectified on the day of our inspection.

We found one area of the home presented a possible falling hazard. This area was made safe on the day of our inspection.

We found two plastic bedrail bumpers were torn which could compromise infection control. Staff had identified this and replaced the bumpers during our inspection.

Staff recruitment procedures ensured people’s safety was promoted.

Sufficient numbers of staff were provided to meet people’s needs.

Staff were provided with relevant training, supervision and appraisal so they had the skills they needed to undertake their role.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible. The registered provider’s policies and systems supported this practice.

People had access to a range of health care professionals to help maintain their health. A varied diet was provided, which took into account dietary needs and preferences so people’s health was promoted and choices could be respected.

Staff knew people well and positive, caring relationships had been developed. People were encouraged to express their views and they were involved in decisions about their care. People’s privacy and dignity was respected and promoted. Staff understood how to support people in a sensitive way.

A programme of activities was in place so people were provided with a range of leisure opportunities.

People said they could speak with staff i

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 25 August 2017

The service was safe.

People told us they felt safe. People were content and happy to be with staff. Staff were aware of their responsibilities in keeping people safe.

Appropriate arrangements were in place for the safe administration and disposal of medicines. Medicines were stored securely. However, one area held medicines that were stored untidily which created a potential risk. This was rectified during our inspection.

The staff recruitment procedures in operation promoted people�s safety.

Staffing levels were adequate to meet the needs of people who used the service.

Effective

Good

Updated 25 August 2017

The service was effective.

Staff were provided with a regular programme of training, supervision and appraisal for development and support.

The service was meeting the requirements of the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards. Staff had an understanding of, the Mental Capacity Act 2005 and the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards.

People were assisted to maintain their health by being provided with a balanced diet and having access to a range of healthcare professionals.

Caring

Good

Updated 25 August 2017

The service was caring.

Staff respected people�s privacy and dignity and knew people�s preferences well.

People living at the home, and their relatives, said staff were very caring in their approach.

Responsive

Good

Updated 25 August 2017

The service was responsive.

People�s care plans contained a range of information and had been reviewed to keep them up to date.

Staff understood people�s preferences and support needs.

People living at the home, or their relatives, were confident in reporting concerns to the registered manager and felt they would be listened to.

Well-led

Good

Updated 25 August 2017

The service was well led.

The manager was registered with CQC.

Staff told us communication was good within the home. Staff meetings were held.

There were quality assurance and audit processes in place to make sure the home was running safely.

The service had a full range of policies and procedures available for staff so they had access to important information.