You are here

Norwood - 60 Carlton Avenue Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 22 December 2017

This inspection took place on 7 November 2017 and was unannounced. We also visited the home again on 15 November 2017 to look at staff files.

Norwood - 60 Carlton Avenue is registered to provide care and accommodation for up to eight people with learning disabilities. At the time of our inspection, there were seven people using the service.

At our last inspection on 13 and 19 November 2015 we found that the service met regulations and we rated the service as “good”.

There was a registered manager in post at the time of our inspection. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission (CQC) to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Some people in the home had complex needs and were therefore unable to provide us with feedback. We therefore spent time observing interaction between people and staff. On the day of our inspection we observed that people were well cared for and appeared relaxed and comfortable in the presence of care staff. We saw positive engagement between staff and people using the service. Staff were respectful to people and showed a good understanding of each person’s needs and abilities.

There were systems in place to keep people safe. Staff had received training on how to identify abuse and understood their responsibilities in relation to safeguarding people, including reporting concerns relating to people’s safety and well-being.

Risk to people who used the service had been assessed, updated and regularly reviewed to ensure people were safe and risks to people in relation to treatment or care were minimised.

Medicines were managed safely and staff were appropriately trained. Appropriate infection control procedures were followed to minimise the risk of spreading infection. Accidents and incidents were documented and audited by the registered manager to find trends and prevent future incidents from happening.

On the day of the inspection we observed that there were sufficient numbers of staff to meet people’s individual care needs. Staff did not appear to be rushed and were able to complete their tasks. Staff we spoke with confirmed that there were sufficient numbers of staff to safely care for people.

People’s needs were assessed to ensure that the home was able to provide treatment or care appropriate to people’s needs. Staff were provided with ongoing training and regularly planned supervisions and appraisals ensured their performance was monitored and they were supported to care for people using the service and meet their assessed needs.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service support this practice. The service operated within the principles of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA).

People’s health and social care needs had been appropriately assessed. Care plans were person-centred, detailed and specific to each person and their needs. Care preferences were documented and staff we spoke with were aware of people’s likes and dislikes.

Staff we spoke with had an understanding of the principles of the Mental Capacity Act (MCA 2005). Capacity to make specific decisions was recorded in people’s care plans.

Suitable arrangements were in place to ensure that the nutritional needs of people were met. People's nutritional needs had been assessed and care workers were knowledgeable regarding the dietary needs of people.

The home had a varied activities programme and each person had their own activities timetable which was devised based on their individual interests. Activities included rebound therapy [this is also known as trampoline exercise therapy which uses trampolines to provide movement, therapeutic exercise an

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 22 December 2017

The home remains good.

Effective

Good

Updated 22 December 2017

The home remains good.

Caring

Good

Updated 22 December 2017

The home remains good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 22 December 2017

The home remains good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 22 December 2017

The home remains good.