You are here

We are carrying out a review of quality at Cricklade House. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 9 January 2019

Cricklade House is a care home. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as a single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. Cricklade House provides accommodation with personal care for up to four people with learning disabilities and autism. At the time of our inspection four people were living in the home.

The care service has been developed and designed in line with values that underpin the Registering the Right Support and other best practice guidance. These values include choice, promotion of independence and inclusion. People with learning disabilities and autism using the service can live as ordinary a life as any citizen.

The inspection took place on 6 December 2018 and was unannounced. This meant the provider did not know we would be visiting.

At our last inspection, in May 2016, we rated the service good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

There was a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

At this inspection we found the service remained Good.

Why the service is rated Good.

Sufficient numbers of staff were deployed at the time of our visit. Staff performance was monitored. Staff received supervision, training and support in a variety of ways to ensure they could meet people’s needs.

Medicines were safely managed and checks were in place to identify and take actions when shortfalls were identified.

Staff had received safeguarding and whistle-blowing training and knew how to report concerns.

People were helped to exercise support and control over their lives. People were supported to consent to care and make decisions. The principles of the Mental Capacity Act (MCA) 2005 had been followed.

Risk assessments and risk management plans were in place. Personal care was delivered in line with assessed needs and accurate monitoring records were maintained.

People’s dietary requirements and preferences were recorded and people were provided with choices at mealtimes.

Staff were kind and caring. People were being treated with dignity and respect and people’s privacy was maintained.

Care was personalised, responsive and ensured individual needs were met.

A range of leisure and therapeutic activities were offered that provided people with stimulation, entertainment and engagement.

Systems were in place for monitoring quality and safety. Where shortfalls or areas for improvements were identified these were acted upon.

Relatives and a health professional spoke positively about the quality of care and support people received.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 9 January 2019

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 9 January 2019

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 9 January 2019

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 9 January 2019

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 9 January 2019

The service remains Good.