You are here

Archived: Ormesby Grange Care Home Good

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 18 June 2016

This inspection took place on 26 April 2016 and was unannounced. This meant the registered provider did not know we would be visiting. A second day of inspection took place on 27 April 2016, and was announced.

The service was last inspected in January 2016. At that inspection we found that medicines were not always managed safely, risk to people were not always assessed and remedial action taken to minimise them and pre-employment checks of staff were not always carried out to ensure they were suitable to work with vulnerable adults. We took enforcement action as a result, issuing warning notices requiring the services to be compliant with our regulations by 25 February 2016. When we returned for this inspection we found the issues identified had been addressed.

At that inspection we also found staffing levels were insufficient to support people safely and staff were not supported through a regular system of supervision and appraisal. We did not take enforcement action but required the registered provider to send us a report of the actions they would take to address this. When we returned for this inspection we found the issues identified had been addressed.

Ormesby Grange Care Home is situated in Middlesbrough and provides care and accommodation for up to 116 older people, some of whom are living with dementia. It is a purpose built, three storey home. Each floor housed a different unit; ‘Daisy’ unit on the ground floor, ‘Tulip’ unit on the first floor and ‘Rose’ unit on the second floor. Rose unit was used to provide nursing care. At the time of the inspection 59 people were using the service.

There was a registered manager in place. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Medicines were managed safely, though the recording of topical medicine use required improvement. Risks to people were assessed, and steps were taken to minimise them. Risk assessments were regularly reviewed to ensure they matched people’s current needs. The safety of the premises was regularly monitored and required maintenance certificates were in place. Plans were in place to support people in emergency situations.

Staffing levels were sufficient to support people safely, and changed in accordance with people’s assessed levels of dependency. Staff understood safeguarding issues and were knowledgeable about the types of abuse that can occur in care settings. Pre-employment checks to ensure staff suitability to work with vulnerable people were carried out to minimise the risk of unsuitable staff being employed.

Staff received the training they needed to support people effectively, and said training had improved since our inspection in January 2016. Staff received a regular system of supervision and appraisal to support them in their role.

Policies were in place to ensure that people’s rights under the Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA) and Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards were protected. Appropriate assessments took place where people lacked capacity.

People were supported to maintain their health through access to food and drinks. Meals were appealing and the dining experience was pleasant and encouraged people to maintain good nutrition.

The service worked closely with professionals to maintain and promote people’s health and wellbeing.

People were treated with dignity and respect and people and their relatives spoke positively about the care they received. We observed positive and caring interactions between people and staff.

Procedures were in place to arrange advocates and end of life care should they be needed. The service worked closely with other professionals to plan end of life care that reflect the wishes of people and the relatives.

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 18 June 2016

The service was safe.

Medicines were managed safely, though the recording of topical medicine use required improvement.

Risks to people were assessed, and steps taken to minimise them.

Staffing levels were sufficient to support people safely, and pre-employment checks were carried out to ensure staff suitability to work with vulnerable people.

Effective

Good

Updated 18 June 2016

The service was effective.

Staff were supported through a regular system of supervision and appraisal and received the training they needed to support people effectively.

Staff understood and applied the principles of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 and the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards.

People received support with food and nutrition and were able to maintain a balanced diet.

The service worked with external professionals to support and maintain people�s health.

Caring

Good

Updated 18 June 2016

The service was caring.

People were treated with dignity and respect.

People and their relatives spoke positively about the care they received. We observed positive and caring interactions between people and staff.

Procedures were in place to arrange advocates and end of life care should they be needed.

Responsive

Good

Updated 18 June 2016

The service was responsive.

People received care that reflected their personal needs and preferences.

Most people had access to a range of activities that reflected their preferences. People who were living with a dementia did not always have access to relevant activities.

The complaints procedure was clear and applied when issues arose.

Well-led

Good

Updated 18 June 2016

The service was well-led.

People and their relatives spoke positively about the registered manager and deputy manager.

Quality assurance checks were undertaken on a regular basis to monitor and improve standards.

Feedback was sought from people, relatives, staff and external professionals on how to improve the service.