You are here

Mydentist - Brassey Avenue - Eastbourne

The partners registered to provide this service have changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 10 December 2015

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection on 13 October 2015 to ask the practice the following key questions; Are services safe, effective, caring, responsive and well-led?

Our findings were:

Are services safe?

We found that this practice was providing safe care in accordance with the relevant regulations

Are services effective?

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations

Are services caring?

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations

Are services responsive?

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations

Are services well-led?

We found that this practice was providing well-led care in accordance with the relevant regulations

Background

Mydentist Brassey Avenue is a mixed dental practice providing mainly NHS and some private treatment and caters for both adults and children. The practice is situated in a converted residential property. The practice had three dental treatment rooms and a separate decontamination room for cleaning, sterilising and packing dental instruments and a reception and waiting area. Two of the dental treatment rooms were all on the ground floor enabling disabled access.

The practice has 3 dentists and 4 dental nurses. All of the dental nurses were qualified and registered with the General Dental Council. Supporting the clinical staff were a full time practice manager and 3 reception staff. The practice’s opening hours are 9:00am – 5:30pm on Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Fridays, with late night opening until 7pm on Thursdays. The practice is open on Saturdays from 9:00am until 1pm every other week.

The Practice Manager is the registered manager. A registered manager is a person who is registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the practice is run.

Before the inspection we sent Care Quality Commission comment cards to the practice for patients to complete to tell us about their experience of the practice. We collected 11 completed cards and spoke to 3 patients. These provided a positive view of the services the practice provides. All of the patients commented that the quality of care was very good.

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection on 13 October 2015 as part of our planned inspection of all dental practices. The inspection took place over one day and was carried out by a lead inspector who was also a dental specialist adviser.

Our key findings were:

  • The practice had an empowered practice manager who provided robust leadership within the practice.
  • Staff had been trained to handle emergencies and appropriate medicines and life-saving equipment was readily available in accordance with current guidelines.
  • The practice was visibly clean and well maintained.
  • Infection control procedures were robust and the practice followed published guidance.
  • The practice had a dedicated safeguarding lead with effective safeguarding processes in place for safeguarding adults and children living in vulnerable circumstances.
  • Staff reported incidents and kept records of these which the practice used for shared learning.
  • The practice had enough staff to deliver the service.
  • Staff personnel files were well organised and complete.
  • Staff had received training appropriate to their roles and were supported in their continued professional development (CPD).
  • Staff we spoke to felt well supported by the practice manager and were committed to providing a quality service to their patients.
  • Information from 11 completed CQC comment cards gave us a completely positive picture of a friendly, professional service.
  • All complaints were dealt with in an open and transparent way by the practice manager if a mistake had been made.
  • The practice had a rolling programme of clinical and non-clinical audit in place.
  • A children’s club had been established to promote good oral health in children.
Inspection areas

Safe

No action required

Updated 10 December 2015

We found that this practice was providing care which was safe in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice had robust arrangements for essential topics such as infection control, clinical waste control, management of medical emergencies at the practice and dental radiography (X-rays). We found that all the equipment used in the dental practice was well maintained. The practice took their responsibilities for patient safety seriously and staff were aware of the importance of identifying, investigating and learning from patient safety incidents. There were sufficient numbers of suitably qualified staff working at the practice. Staff had received safeguarding training and were aware of their responsibilities regarding safeguarding children and vulnerable adults.

Effective

No action required

Updated 10 December 2015

We found that this practice was providing effective care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The dental care provided was evidence based and focussed on the needs of the patients. The practice used current national professional guidance including that from the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) to guide their practice. The staff received professional training and development appropriate to their roles and learning needs. Staff were registered with the General Dental Council (GDC) and were meeting the requirements of their professional registration

Caring

No action required

Updated 10 December 2015

We found that this practice was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

We collected 11 completed cards. These provided a completely positive view of the service, we also spoke to 3 patients who also reflected these findings. All of the patients commented that the quality of care was very good. Some patients commented that the dentists provide excellent advice and treatment and treatment was explained clearly and the staff were caring and put them at ease.

Responsive

No action required

Updated 10 December 2015

We found that this practice was providing responsive care in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The service was aware of the needs of the local population and took those these into account in how the practice was run. Patients could access treatment and urgent care when required. The practice provided patients with written information and had access to telephone interpreter services when required. Two dentists at the practice spoke one or more European languages. Two dental treatment rooms were all on the ground floor enabling ease of access into the building for patients with mobility difficulties and families with prams and pushchairs.

Well-led

No action required

Updated 10 December 2015

We found that this practice was providing care which was well led in accordance with the relevant regulations.

The practice manager provided effective local leadership and was supported in her role by an Area Dental Manager and a Clinical Support Manager. The practice had clinical governance and risk management structures in place. Staff told us that they felt well supported and could raise any concerns with the practice manager. All the staff we met said that the practice was a good place to work.