You are here

Mount Olivet Nursing Home Outstanding

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Outstanding

Updated 16 January 2018

This inspection took place on 13 and 14 November 2017. The first day of the inspection was unannounced which meant that the staff and provider did not know that we would be visiting.

At our last inspection of this service in October 2015, we awarded an overall rating of Good.

At this inspection we found the service had improved and was outstanding overall.

Mount Olivet is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. Mount Olivet accommodates 30 people who require nursing or personal care in one adapted building set over three floors. Mount Olivet has a range of communal areas for people and their relatives to use, including a conservatory with outstanding views. There were 26 people living at the home at the time of our inspection.

The home had a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Why the service is rated Outstanding:

On entering the home there was an exceptionally welcoming and friendly atmosphere. Staff were extremely compassionate, attentive and caring in their interactions with people. One relative told us, “The care here is top class.” Another said, “There is such a feeling of family and warmth here.” Mount Olivet’s principle aim was to ensure a supportive environment for people where quality of life was paramount.

People benefitted because Mount Olivet was extremely well led by an experienced and exceptionally proactive registered manager who was also a registered nurse and the homes clinical lead. They had an open leadership style, promoted a positive culture, and were committed to high standards of care and continuous improvement. The registered manager had taken the management of care at Mount Olivet to a new level of excellence.

People told us they felt safe at the home and with the staff who supported them, one person said “I feel quite safe here.” Relative told us, “It’s a safe place for my relative. I truly have peace of mind knowing my relative is here, and when I go away for a weekend or a few days, I do so knowing my relative is safe.” There were systems in place to keep people safe. We found staff were aware of safeguarding processes and now to raise concerns if they felt people were at risk of abuse or poor practice.

People told us, and we observed, that staff were kind and patient and respected people’s privacy. A visitor told us “I visit my relative two or three times a week and always find her clean and well dressed. It’s obvious to me that she receives the highest level of care.”

People, or their representatives, were involved in decisions about the care and support they received.

People were supported by staff to have personalised experiences, maintain relationships and build memories with family and friends who were important to them. People benefitted from staffs enthusiasm and passion to ensure that all social activities were person-centred, fun, and had meaning to each person.

People told us there were adequate numbers of suitable staff to meet their needs and to spend time socialising with them. The registered manager used a dependency tool to ascertain staffing levels. The provider had a robust recruitment process in place to ensure only appropriate staff were employed to work at the home to support people safely.

People continued to receive effective care because staff had the skills and knowledge required to effectively support them. The registered manager kept an electronic matrix to monitor staff training. Staff training was either up to date or plans for refresher course

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 16 January 2018

The service remains safe.

Effective

Good

Updated 16 January 2018

The service remains effective

Caring

Outstanding

Updated 16 January 2018

The service was outstandingly caring.

People told us the staff were extremely caring, compassionate, thoughtful and helpful. People were supported by staff that were committed to providing high quality.

Staff understood how to communicate with people with a different range of needs and used innovative ways in which to reduce and remove barriers. People wherever possible, were consulted and involved in decisions about their care.

Staff knew people well and spent meaningful time with people.

Staff treated people in a respectful way and were aware of people's individual needs around privacy and dignity.

Staff knew and responded to people's diverse personal, cultural and spiritual needs and made sure people's human rights were considered.

Responsive

Good

Updated 16 January 2018

The service remains responsive.

Well-led

Outstanding

Updated 16 January 2018

The service was outstandingly well led.

The service was extremely well led by an experienced and exceptionally proactive registered manager. They had an open leadership style, promoted a positive culture, and were committed to high standards of care and continuous improvement.

People benefitted from staff who felt valued and appreciated. Staff were extremely passionate and committed to providing quality care and were clear on their roles and responsibilities.

There were effective systems to monitor and review the quality of the home and regular audits were carried out.