You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 23 May 2018

This unannounced comprehensive inspection took place on 18 April 2018 and was carried out by one adult social care inspector and an expert by experience. An expert by experience is a person who has personal experience of using services or caring for a person who uses services. In this case the expert by experience had experience in caring for a person living with dementia. We last inspected this home on 6 February 2016 and it was rated as ‘Good’ overall and ‘Requires Improvement’ in the Effective key question.

Legh House is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. The home is registered to accommodate up to 19 older people in one adapted building. Nursing care is not provided by staff at Legh House. This is provided by the community nursing service. At the time of this inspection there were 18 people living in the home.

The service had a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.’

At our last inspection in February 2016 we rated the service good overall and requires improvement in Effective. At this inspection in April 2018 we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good overall and the rating in Effective had improved to good. There was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

At this inspection we found the service remained Good.

Legh House provided elderly people living with dementia and other health conditions with accommodation, care and support. People were protected from risks relating to their health, their dementia related behaviours, mobility, medicines, nutrition and possible abuse. Staff had assessed individual risks to people and had taken action to seek guidance and minimise identified risks. Staff knew how to recognise possible signs of abuse.

Where accidents and incidents had taken place, these had been reviewed and action had been taken to reduce the risks of reoccurrence. Staff supported people to take their medicines safely and staffs’ knowledge relating to the administration of medicines were regularly checked. Staff told us they felt comfortable raising concerns.

Recruitment procedures were in place to help ensure only people of good character were employed by the home. The registered manager was working towards updating their staff files and ensuring all necessary paperwork was available. Staff underwent Disclosure and Barring Service (police record) checks before they started work. Staffing numbers at the home were sufficient to meet people’s needs. Staff had the competencies and information they required in order to meet people’s needs. Staff received sufficient training. The registered manager was working on improving the regularity and content of staff supervisions and appraisal.

Staff treated people with kindness and respect. We found staff had caring attitudes towards people and spoke highly of them, their personalities and qualities. There was a warm and pleasant atmosphere at the home where people and staff shared jokes and laughter. Staff knew people and their preferences well. People’s comments included, “All the staff are lovely” and “They are so kind.”

Staff had a good understanding of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA) and put it into practice. Where people had been unable to make a particular decision at a particular time, their capacity had been asses

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 23 May 2018

The service remains Good

Effective

Good

Updated 23 May 2018

The service has improved to Good

Caring

Good

Updated 23 May 2018

The service remains Good

Responsive

Good

Updated 23 May 2018

The service remains Good

Well-led

Good

Updated 23 May 2018

The service remains Good