You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 2 June 2018

The Old Rectory is a residential care home for 10 people, including people living with dementia and people requiring personal care. The home is a large detached property in Standish and has eight single rooms on the first floor, of which four have en suite facilities and on the ground floor, there is a shared room. Bathrooms and toilets are situated on the first floor and toilets are available on the ground floor.

At our last inspection on 11 October 2015 we rated the service good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and on-going monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection; at this inspection conducted on 16 and 17 April 2018 we found the service remained Good.

There was a registered manager at the home. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People told us they felt safe living at the home and were supported to have choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

There were sufficient staff available to ensure people's wellbeing, safety and security was protected. An appropriate recruitment and selection process was in place which ensured new staff had the right skills and were suitable to work with people living in the home.

Staff had a good understanding of systems in place to manage medicines, safeguarding matters and behaviours that are challenging to others. People's medicines were managed so they

received them safely.

Relatives we spoke with said they felt welcome to visit at any time; they felt involved in care planning and were confident that their comments and concerns would be acted upon. The provider took account of complaints and comments to improve the service.

Risk assessments were in place for a number of areas and were regularly updated, and staff had a good knowledge and understanding of people’s health conditions.

Feedback received from people who used the service and their relatives was overwhelmingly positive and people were encouraged to contribute their views. People were positive about the staff who supported them and told us they liked the staff and were treated with dignity and kindness. People told us they felt safe living at the home.

People were satisfied with the food provided at the home and the support they received in relation to nutrition and hydration. There was an open and transparent culture and encouragement for people to provide feedback.

People told us they were aware of how to make a complaint and were confident they could express any concerns and these would be addressed.

Staff told us they enjoyed working for the organisation and spoke positively about the culture and management of the service. They also told us that they were encouraged to openly discuss any issues.

Further improvements had been made to the design and decoration of the environment. There was a homely and peaceful atmosphere with due consideration given to the needs of people with dementia.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 2 June 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 2 June 2018

The service has improved to Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 2 June 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 2 June 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 2 June 2018

The service remains Good.