You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 18 April 2018

This unannounced comprehensive inspection took place on 11 March 2018 and was carried out by one adult social care inspector. We last inspected this home on 13 November 2015 when it was rated as ‘Good’ overall and in every key question.

Summon Bonum is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. Summon Bonum is registered to accommodate up to nine people with learning disabilities and complex needs in one adapted building. Nursing care is not provided by staff at Summon Bonum. This is provided by the community nursing service. At the time of this inspection in March 2018 there were eight people living in the home.

Summon Bonum is owned by Mrs J Whitney. As the owner is not a company there is no requirement to register a manager of the service. Although Mrs Whitney is at the home on a regular basis, there is also a manager who takes day to day control of the home. We will refer to this person as ‘the manager’.

At our last inspection in November 2015 we rated the service good. At this inspection in March 2018 we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

At this inspection we found the service remained Good.

Although the care service had been developed and designed prior to Building the Right Support and Registering the Right Support guidance being published, it followed these values and principles. These values related to people with learning disabilities using the service could live as ordinary a life as any citizen. They achieved this by promoting enablement, independence, choice and inclusion. They demonstrated how they delivered person-centred care and how they ensured people had easy access and include to the local community.

At the time of our inspection in March 2018 people living in Summon Bonum were living with learning disabilities along with varying physical and mental health needs. People had varying levels of need, with some people being able to leave the home independently and others requiring support to do so.

People who lived in Summon Bonum were protected from risks relating to possible abuse, relating to their needs and their health conditions. Staff knew how to recognise possible signs of abuse which also helped protect people Staff had assessed individual risks to people and had taken action to minimise these. Where accidents and incidents had taken place, these had been reviewed and action had been taken to reduce the risks of reoccurrence. Staff supported people to take their medicines safely and staff competencies relating to the administration of medicines were regularly checked. Staff told us they felt comfortable raising concerns.

Recruitment procedures were in place to help ensure only people of good character were employed by the home. Staff underwent Disclosure and Barring Service (police record) checks before they started work. Staffing numbers at the service were sufficient to meet people’s needs and provide them with two to one or one to one support where required. Staff had the competencies and information they required in order to meet people’s needs. Staff received sufficient training as well as regular supervision and appraisal.

Staff had a good understanding of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA) and put it into practice. Where people had been unable to make a particular decision at a particular time, their capacity had been assessed and best interests decisions had taken place and had been recorded. Where people were being deprived of their liberty for their own safety the registered manager had made Depri

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 18 April 2018

The service remains Good

Effective

Good

Updated 18 April 2018

The service remains Good

Caring

Good

Updated 18 April 2018

The service remains Good

Responsive

Good

Updated 18 April 2018

The service remains Good

Well-led

Good

Updated 18 April 2018

The service remains Good