You are here

Vibrance - 1 Parkstone Avenue Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 25 August 2018

This inspection took place on the 21 May 2018 and was unannounced. The inspection team consisted of one inspector. The previous inspection to the service was in January 2016 and the service was rated 'Good' overall.

At our last inspection we rated the service good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

1 Parkstone Avenue is a registered care home providing 24-hour care for eight adults with severe or profound learning disabilities and those with additional mobility or physical difficulties. The care home is a large, detached purpose-built bungalow in a residential road. Each person has a single room and there is a communal bathroom, shower room, kitchen, dining room and lounge. There is an -enclosed garden at the back of the house with level access. At the time of our inspection there were eight people using the service.

The care service has been developed and designed in line with the values that underpin the 'Registering the Right Support' and other best practice guidance. These values include choice, promotion of independence and inclusion. People with learning disabilities and autism using the service can live as ordinary a life as any citizen.

The service was safe. The recruitment process ensured that appropriate checks were carried out before staff commenced employment. There were sufficient staff on duty to meet the needs of people and keep them safe from potential harm or abuse. The service assessed people's health and wellbeing needs and carried out risk assessments to minimise risk to health. The registered manager and staff kept people's medication records up to date.

The service was effective. People were cared for and supported by staff who had received training to support people and to meet their needs. The registered manager had a good understanding of their responsibilities in relation to the Mental Capacity Act 2005 and the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards. People were supported to eat and drink enough to ensure they maintained a balanced diet and referrals to health and social care services were made when required.

The service was caring. Staff cared for people in an empathetic and kind manner. Staff had a good understanding of people's preferences of care. Staff worked hard to promote people's independence through encouraging and supporting people to make informed decisions.

The service was responsive. Records we viewed showed people and their relatives were involved in the planning and review of their care and was person centred. Support plans were reviewed on a regular basis and when there was a change in care needs. People were supported to follow their interests and participate in social activities. The service responded to complaints in a timely manner.

The service was well-led. Staff and people spoke very highly of the registered manager and provider who were supportive and worked hard to provide an exceptional service. The service had systems in place to monitor and provide good care and these were reviewed on a regular basis.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 25 August 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 25 August 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 25 August 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 25 August 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 25 August 2018

The service remains Good.