You are here

Easthill Home for Deaf People Good

Our most recent reports on this service are available as British sign language videos. You can watch the video of our December 2015 report here. British sign language videos of our July 2015 report and our November 2014 report are also available.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 11 March 2021

Easthill Home for Deaf People provides accommodation, personal care and support for up to 15 older people. At the time of our inspection there were nine people living in the home.

We found the following examples of good practice.

There were procedures in place to support safe visiting by family members or professionals. Staff undertook screening of all visitors including temperature checks and a questionnaire to determine risks posed by visitors. Rapid response lateral flow tests (LFT) were undertaken for visitors before they entered the home. Visitors were provided with Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) and guided to its safe use.

People and staff were regularly tested for COVID-19. Staff had LFT testing twice a week as well as standard Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) tests weekly. The registered manager understood the actions they needed to take should any tests return a positive result.

The service had a good supply of PPE to meet current and future demand. Staff were using this correctly and in accordance with current guidance and disposal was safe at the time of this inspection. The home supported Profoundly Deaf BSL users. Special face masks were in use which enabled staff mouth’s to be visible via a plastic ‘window’ enabling communication via lip reading to continue.

New admissions to the service were supported in line with best practice guidance. All new admissions were expected to provide recent COVID-19 test results, were further tested by the service following admission and isolated upon arrival for 14 days to minimise the risk of potential infection to existing people. These procedures were also followed when existing people returned to the home following a hospital stay.

Staff had undertaken additional training to administer insulin meaning there was a reduced need for community nurses to attend the home.

Staff had been trained in infection control practices and individual risk assessments had been completed for vulnerable staff members.

The home was kept clean. Staff kept detailed records of their cleaning schedules, which included a rolling programme of continuously cleaning high touch surfaces, such as light switches, grab rails and door handles.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 11 March 2021

Further information is in the detailed findings below.

Effective

Good

Updated 11 March 2021

Caring

Good

Updated 11 March 2021

Responsive

Good

Updated 11 March 2021

Well-led

Good

Updated 11 March 2021