You are here

Easthill Home for Deaf People Good

Our most recent reports on this service are available as British sign language videos. You can watch the video of our December 2015 report here. British sign language videos of our July 2015 report and our November 2014 report are also available.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 4 August 2018

Easthill Home for Deaf People is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

At our last inspection in November 2015, we rated the service good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. The service was meeting all relevant fundamental standards of care. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

This inspection took place on 14, 15 and 29 June 2018 and was unannounced.

The home accommodates up to 15 people and specialises in supported older deaf people whose primary means of communication is British Sign Language (BSL). At the time of our inspection 10 deaf people, were living at the home. The home was based on three levels connected by stairwells, a passenger lift and a stair lift. All bedrooms had sink facilities and bath or shower rooms were available on each floor, together with communal areas where people could socialise.

There was a registered manager in post at the service. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People felt safe living at the home. Staff knew how to identify, prevent and report abuse. They assessed and managed risks to people and risks posed by the environment effectively.

Arrangements were in place for the safe management of medicines. People received their medicines as prescribed. The home was clean and hygienic and staff followed best practice guidance to control the risk and spread of infection.

There were enough staff to meet people’s needs in a timely way. Appropriate recruitment procedures were in place and pre-employment checks were completed before staff started working with people.

People’s needs were met by staff who were competent, trained and supported in their role. Staff acted in the best interests of people and followed legislation designed to protect people’s rights and freedom.

People’s dietary needs were met and they received appropriate support to eat and drink enough. Adaptations and improvements had been made to the home to make it supportive of the people living there.

People were supported to access healthcare services when needed. Staff made information available to other healthcare providers to help ensure continuity of care and supported communication between people and health professionals.

People were cared for with kindness and compassion. Staff knew people well and built positive relationships with them. They were skilled at communicating and engaging with people and adapted BSL to effectively meet people’s communication needs.

Staff protected people’s privacy and dignity. They encouraged people to remain as independent as possible and involved them in planning the care and support they received.

People’s needs were met in a personalised way. Each person had a care plan that was centred on their needs and reviewed regularly. Staff empowered people to make choices and responded promptly when people’s needs changed.

People had access to a range of activities based on their individual interests, including regular access to the community. They knew how to make a complaint and an accessible complaints procedure was in place.

Staff took account of people’s end of life wishes and preferences. They supported people to remain comfortable and pain free.

People and professionals who had regular contact with the home felt it w

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 4 August 2018

The service remains good.

Effective

Good

Updated 4 August 2018

The service remains good.

Caring

Good

Updated 4 August 2018

The service remains good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 4 August 2018

The service remains good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 4 August 2018

The service remains good.