You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 22 November 2018

We inspected Homemead on 22 October 2018. The inspection was unannounced. We had previously carried out a comprehensive inspection in August 2017 where the overall rating was Requires Improvement.

Homemead is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as a single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

Homemead provides accommodation and personal care for up to 26 older people with dementia. At the time of our inspection there were 23 people living in the home. The home is situated in its own grounds and has three floors, served by a lift.

At the previous inspection in August 2017 we found that the service was not meeting all the quality standards and was rated "Requires Improvement” in the key areas of safety and well-led. The inspection rated the service overall as “Requires Improvement”.

We asked the service to provide us with an action plan for improvement and we monitored improvement during this inspection. At this inspection we found that the provider and registered manager had made the necessary improvements to their service.

At the previous inspection we found that people were not always supported in a safe way when receiving their medicines. There were some occasions where people were not always given their medicines on all days and that the recording of medicines used was not always accurate.

During this inspection we found that the management of the recording of medicines had improved. We found that daily medication audits were completed and fed into a weekly audit, completed by one of the senior management team.

At the previous inspection we found that people were not always supported in a safe way at night due to the numbers of staff on duty. There were occasions when people had to be left unattended whilst staff were carrying out other duties.

During this inspection we found that the night staffing had improved because the provider had increased the numbers of staff on duty. This meant that people were more frequently monitored and have their needs met sooner.

At the previous inspection we found that the service had systems and procedures in place to help deliver high quality care. However, it did not always use its audits and information to make improvements or address issues that needed resolving.

During this inspection we found that the service had improved the way it used its quality assurance systems to help managers and staff understand what was important to people and how the service could develop and improve.

The home has a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the home. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the home is run.

People who lived at the home were protected from the risk of abuse happening to them. People told us they felt safe and well cared for at the home and they would not be afraid to tell someone if they had any concerns about their safety or wellbeing. Care staff could describe how they would report incidents of concern and records showed that training in safeguarding people had been updated.

Staff provided attentive care to people and risks to people’s health, safety and welfare were well managed. Risks had been assessed and where appropriate contributed to the person’s overall care plan.

Risk management plans clearly identified what the risk was and provided staff with instructions about how they needed to manage the risk to ensure people received safe care and support whilst enabling them to remain as independent as possible.

There were procedures and policies in place to control infection. We looked around the home and saw that all areas were clean and hygienic. Staff had re

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 22 November 2018

The service was safe. People were protected from the risk of abuse and harm because staff had received a thorough recruitment process and had been trained in safeguarding people.

People received their medicines in a safe manner and there were good infection control procedures in the home.

People had been assessed with regard to any risks to their health or safety. These included their mobility, emotional well-being, health and nutrition. Risk assessments were used as part of the overall care planning.

Effective

Good

Updated 22 November 2018

The service was effective. People were supported to have their assessed needs, preferences and choices met by staff with the necessary skills and knowledge.

Staff understood the relevant requirements of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 and the rights of people to make their own choices where possible. Where people lacked capacity, staff acted in their best interests.

People were supported to have enough to eat and drink. Meals were appropriately spaced and flexible to meet people�s needs and people had a diet that was balanced and nutritious.

People were supported to maintain good health and had access to healthcare services which offered on-going healthcare support.

Caring

Good

Updated 22 November 2018

The service was caring. Positive caring relationships were developed with people using the service and they were treated with kindness and compassion in their day-to-day care.

People were supported to express their views and be actively involved in making decisions about their care, treatment and support.

Responsive

Good

Updated 22 November 2018

The service was responsive. People received personalised care that was responsive to their needs.

The service had systems and guidance in place to enable people to raise concerns and for those concerns to be listened to and learned from.

Well-led

Good

Updated 22 November 2018

The service was well-led. Quality assurance systems were being used by the provider to evaluate and improve their practice.

The service demonstrated good management and leadership through the registered manager, deputy and team of senior staff.

The registered manager and staff promoted a positive culture that was person-centred, open, inclusive and empowering.