You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 6 October 2018

Homeland is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. Homeland accommodates three people living with a learning disability in one adapted building. At the time of our inspection there were three people living at the service.

The care service has been developed and designed in line with the values that underpin the Registering the Right Support and other best practice guidance. These values include choice, promotion of independence and inclusion. People with learning disabilities and autism using the service can live as ordinary a life as any citizen.

This announced comprehensive inspection took place on 5 and 7 September 2018. The provider was given short notice because we needed to be sure that someone would be in.

At our last inspection in February 2016 we rated the service good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

.

Why the service is rated good.

The service provided safe care to people. A relative commented: “(Person) is definitely safe and well cared for.” People’s rights were protected because the service followed the appropriate legal processes. Medicines were safely managed on people’s behalf.

People are supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff support them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service support this practice.

Care files were personalised to reflect people’s personal preferences. People were supported to maintain a balanced diet. Health and social care professionals were regularly involved in people’s care to ensure they received the care and treatment which was right for them.

Staff relationships with people were caring and supportive. A relative commented: “(Person) receives individual care and staff are led by his needs. Lovely care and we are happy. Cannot praise them highly enough.” Staff treated people with dignity and respect when helping them with daily living tasks. The service ensured people led meaningful and fulfilled lives.

There were effective staff recruitment and selection processes in place. People received effective care and support from staff who were well trained and competent.

Staff spoke positively about communication and how the registered manager worked well with them and encouraged their professional development.

A number of methods were used to assess the quality and safety of the service people received and continuous improvements were made in response to the findings.

Further information is in the detailed findings below.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 6 October 2018

The service remains good.

Effective

Good

Updated 6 October 2018

The service remains good.

Caring

Good

Updated 6 October 2018

The service remains good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 6 October 2018

The service remains good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 6 October 2018

The service remains good.