You are here

We are carrying out a review of quality at Comfort Call Gateshead. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 8 November 2018

This inspection took place on 19 and 27 September, and 4 and 5 October 2018 and was announced. This was to ensure someone would be available to speak with and show us records.

This service is a domiciliary care agency. It provides personal care to people living in their own houses and flats in the community. It provides a service to adults of all ages. Some of the people who used the service had mental health needs or were living with a dementia type illness.

On the days of our inspection there were 1490 people using the service. Not everyone using Comfort Call Gateshead receives the regulated activity; CQC only inspects the service being received by people provided with ‘personal care’; help with tasks related to personal hygiene and eating. Where they do we also take into account any wider social care provided.

This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

We last inspected the service in March 2016 and rated the service as ‘Good’. At this inspection we found the service remained ‘Good’ and met all the fundamental standards we inspected against.

Risk assessments were in place for people who used the service and staff. The registered manager understood their responsibilities with regard to safeguarding and staff had been trained in safeguarding vulnerable adults.

Appropriate arrangements were in place to support people with the administration of medicines.

Although there had been some missed and late calls, appropriate action had been taken in response and most of the feedback from people was positive.

The provider had an effective recruitment and selection procedure in place and carried out relevant vetting checks when they employed staff. Staff were suitably trained and received regular supervisions and appraisals.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives, and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible. The policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

People were protected from the risk of poor nutrition and staff were aware of people’s nutritional needs. People were supported with their health care needs and to attend appointments where necessary.

People who used the service and family members were complimentary about the standard of care at Comfort Call Gateshead. Staff treated people with dignity and respect and helped to maintain people’s independence by encouraging them to care for themselves where possible.

Care records showed that people’s needs were assessed before they started using the service and support plans were written in a person-centred way. Person-centred means ensuring the person is at the centre of any care or support plans and their individual wishes, needs and choices are taken into account.

People were protected from social isolation and the service had links with the local community.

The provider had an effective quality assurance process in place. Staff said they felt supported by the management team. People, family members and staff were regularly consulted about the quality of the service.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 8 November 2018

The service remained Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 8 November 2018

The service remained Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 8 November 2018

The service remained Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 8 November 2018

The service remained Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 8 November 2018

The service improved to Good.